On the road to autonomous driving – automated merging maneuvers

6.2.2020

Nuremberg, Germany/Borås, Sweden: When merging and overtaking in complex traffic situations, drivers must pay extreme attention. A lapse in concentration can sometimes lead to accidents – something that automated driving assistance systems work to prevent. The Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS, together with its project partners RISE, Scania, Waysure, Ceit-IK4, Baselabs and Commsignia, has made another successful step towards autonomous driving as part of an EU-funded project PRoPART. On a test track in Sweden, automotive industry experts were able to see how well the automated merging solution performed in an impressive live demonstration with a truck.

PRoPART
© RISE Research Institutes of Sweden
PRoPART, kurz für »Precise and Robust Positioning for Automated Road Transports«, ist ein von der EU gefördertes Projekt.
PRoPART
© Commsignia Ltd.
Erfolgreicher Einfädelvorgang eines LKW zwischen zwei neben ihm fahrenden PKW – und das voll automatisiert.

Autonomous driving is one of the most important topics in the automotive industry. Vehicles on the road today already perform certain steps on behalf of the driver, such as parking. Together with its project partners, the Fraunhofer IIS has developed a precise and robust position determination system for use in autonomous trucks as part of the Precise and Robust Positioning for Automated Road Transports project, or PRoPART for short. In a live demonstration at the AstaZero test site near Borås, Sweden, on November 21, 2019, a truck successfully merged between two cars driving alongside it – in a fully automated maneuver.

New positioning solution reduces risk of accidents

Autonomous driving is all about interactions between different systems in the vehicle, about connecting vehicles and equipping them with precise and robust navigation solutions. Here, the challenge is to ensure that different automated driving systems deliver precise and reliable positioning information. The solution is the intelligent combination of sensors: The developers are utilizing all the advantages of satellite signals in conjunction with other navigation solutions, such as radar and cameras in the vehicle. Supplemented by reference stations along the route, this combination of a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) and sensor data enables highly-available position solutions up to the decimeter range. “This is a key step on the road to autonomous driving”, explains group manager for precise GNSS receivers Matthias Overbeck from Fraunhofer IIS. “It’s about ensuring the merging maneuver is precise and avoiding accidents – something we can achieve only with highly accurate and reliable positioning technology.”

Satellite signals achieve greater accuracy thanks to Fraunhofer GOOSE technology

With its “GOOSE” GNSS receivers, Fraunhofer IIS provides the technology that ensures highly accurate and reliable positioning in the PRoPART project. Satellite signals, however, are not available in tunnels or under bridges, or other road users sometimes block them. Such circumstances quickly lead to positioning errors of several meters, which would be fatal in an automated merging maneuver; the driver would immediately have to take back control of the wheel. However, the technology that Fraunhofer IIS has developed can bridge signal interruptions for short periods of time, potentially obviating the need for the driver to intervene at all.

Authenticated satellite signals from Galileo enhance safety

These days, a variety of electronic systems for providing satellite navigation signals are available and are often used to generate fake positions for gaming apps on smartphones. Such systems can be dangerous because they could potentially disrupt all satellite receivers in a larger radius completely undetected. GOOSE, on the other hand, already makes use of Open Service Navigation Message Authentication (OS-NMA), which is provided by the Galileo satellite navigation service but not officially available until 2020. OS-NMA transmits encrypted keys on the Galileo satellite signals that make it extremely difficult to fake a position, thus ensuring that reliable positioning information can be provided to vehicles in the future.

Privacy warning

With the click on the play button an external video from wwww.youtube.com is loaded and started. Your data is possible transferred and stored to third party. Do not start the video if you disagree. Find more about the youtube privacy statement under the following link: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

Auf dem Weg zum autonomen Fahren – automatisiertes Einfädeln von Fahrzeugen

6.2.2020

Nürnberg/Borås, Schweden: Komplexe Verkehrssituationen bei Einfädel- und Überholprozessen erfordern extrem hohe Aufmerksamkeit des Fahrenden. Unkonzentriertheit führt hier leicht zu Unfällen, automatisierte Unterstützung beim Fahren wirkt dem entgegen. Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS hat zusammen mit seinen Projektpartnern RISE, Scania, Waysure, Ceit-IK4, Baselabs und Commsignia im Rahmen des von der EU geförderten Projekts PRoPART einen weiteren Schritt in Richtung autonomes Fahren erfolgreich abgeschlossen. Auf einer Teststrecke in Schweden überzeugten sich Expertinnen und Experten aus der Automobilbranche live von der Leistungsfähigkeit der vorgestellten Lösung für das automatisierte Einfädeln eines LKW.

PRoPART
© RISE Research Institutes of Sweden
PRoPART, kurz für »Precise and Robust Positioning for Automated Road Transports«, ist ein von der EU gefördertes Projekt.
PRoPART
© Commsignia Ltd.
Erfolgreicher Einfädelvorgang eines LKW zwischen zwei neben ihm fahrenden PKW – und das voll automatisiert.

Autonomes Fahren ist eines der wichtigsten Themen der Automobilbranche. Schon heute übernehmen Fahrzeuge einzelne Schritte selbstständig, wie etwa beim Einparken. Das Fraunhofer IIS hat zusammen mit seinen Projektpartnern im Rahmen des Projekts PRoPART, kurz für »Precise and Robust Positioning for Automated Road Transports«, eine präzise und robuste Positionserkennung für den automatisierten Straßengüterverkehr entwickelt. In einer Live-Demonstration am 21. November 2019 auf dem Testgelände von AstaZero bei Borås, Schweden, wurde ein Einfädelvorgang eines LKW zwischen zwei neben ihm fahrenden PKW erfolgreich gezeigt – und das voll automatisiert.

Verringerte Unfallgefahr dank neu entwickelter Positionslösung

Autonomes Fahren ist ein Zusammenspiel verschiedener Systeme im Fahrzeug, der Vernetzung der Fahrzeuge untereinander sowie präziser und robuster Navigationslösungen. Die Herausforderung, damit verschiedene Systeme für das automatisierte Fahren eine präzise und verlässliche Positionslösung liefern: die intelligente Kombination der Sensoren. Damit nutzen die Entwicklerinnen und Entwickler alle Vorteile von Satellitensignalen als auch anderer Navigationslösungen, wie Radar und Kameras im Fahrzeug. Ergänzt durch Referenzstationen entlang der Strecke erlaubt diese kombinierte GNSS/Sensor-Lösung (GNSS: Global Navigation Satellite System) eine hochverfügbare Positionserkennung bis in den Dezimeterbereich. »Auf dem Weg zum autonomen Fahren ist dies einer der entscheidenden Schritte«, erläutert Gruppenleiter Matthias Overbeck vom Fraunhofer IIS. »Es geht darum, einen präzisen Einfädelvorgang zu gewährleisten und Unfälle zu vermeiden. Dies wird erst mit einer hochgenauen und verlässlichen Position möglich.«

Mit Satellitensignalen zu mehr Genauigkeit dank Fraunhofer GOOSE-Technologie

Das Fraunhofer IIS trägt mit seinem GNSS-Empfänger GOOSE im Projekt PRoPART zur hochgenauen und verlässlichen Positionsbestimmung bei. In Tunneln oder unter Brücken sind keine Satellitensignale verfügbar oder andere Verkehrsteilnehmende schatten diese ab. Dadurch entstehen schnell Positionsfehler von mehreren Metern - fatal für den Fahrenden, der in dieser Situation sofort das Steuer beim Einfädeln übernehmen müsste. Mit der Fraunhofer IIS-Technologie wird es möglich, Signalunterbrechungen für kurze Zeiträume zu überbrücken, sodass ein Eingreifen des Fahrenden möglicherweise überflüssig wird.

Mehr Sicherheit mit authentifizierten Satellitensignalen von Galileo

Mittlerweile ist eine Vielzahl an Elektronik zum Erzeugen von Satellitennavigationssignalen erhältlich, die insbesondere für Spiele-Apps auf dem Smartphone künstliche Positionen erzeugen. Diese Elektronik kann gefährlich sein, weil dadurch alle Satellitenempfänger unbemerkt in einem größeren Umkreis gestört werden könnten. GOOSE hingegen kann bereits heute auf den erst 2020 offiziell verfügbaren OS-NMA Service (Open Service Navigation Message Authentication) des Satellitennavigationsdienstes Galileo zurückgreifen. Dieser versendet Galileo-Satellitensignale mit einer Verschlüsselung, die das Vortäuschen einer Position erheblich erschwert. Damit kann auch in Zukunft dem Fahrzeug eine verlässliche Position bereitgestellt werden.

Datenschutz und Datenverarbeitung

Wir setzen zum Einbinden von Videos den Anbieter YouTube ein. Wie die meisten Websites verwendet YouTube Cookies, um Informationen über die Besucher ihrer Internetseite zu sammeln. Wenn Sie das Video starten, könnte dies Datenverarbeitungsvorgänge auslösen. Darauf haben wir keinen Einfluss. Weitere Informationen über Datenschutz bei YouTube finden Sie in deren Datenschutzerklärung unter: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube