Quantum machine learning provides solutions for industrial applications

Laws of the microscopic world allow faster and better problem-solving

Quantum computing is progressively evolving from a theoretical discipline into an applied one. Indeed, the development of a universal, programmable quantum computer has now moved beyond the realms of fiction and is gradually becoming a reality. This progress has huge implications for the solving of complex problems, as it paves the way for enormous improvements in performance – especially when it comes to optimization problems – thanks to the ability to pursue all computing pathways at the same time using entangled qubits, instead of one after another as in classical computers. At the same time, this is only possible if quantum mechanical phenomena such as the entanglement and superposition of microscopic states are used in a targeted way to extract information about the solution to a problem from the microscopic level and bring it into our macroscopic world, where it can be put to use. We harness the potential advantages of quantum technology to solve ubiquitous, industrially relevant decision problems and to optimize control tasks in manufacturing and industry.

© DP - stock.adobe.com
Quantencomputer

Technology

 

Based on our expertise in the areas of machine learning, deep learning, and reinforcement learning, we develop hybrid technologies that use quantum computers in conjunction with conventional, classical computers. This serves to improve and accelerate the learning process for reinforcement learning, which is used to generate control strategies in dynamic and stochastic optimal control problems. In turn, this allows the identification of better approximative control strategies for time-critical and computationally intensive applications in a shorter time frame. 

Quantum computing-assisted reinforcement learning

 

As the implementation of quantum algorithms follows a completely different paradigm than normal programming approaches for conventional hardware, it follows that solutions based on quantum computing (QC) require different access technology. Research projects are developing both model-based and model-free QC-assisted reinforcement learning (RL) methods with a particular emphasis on the exploration of “noisy intermediate-scale quantum” (NISQ) technology and associated quantum algorithms. In addition, we exploit synergies between machine learning and variational – that is, adaptive or learning – quantum algorithms. This involves formulating industrially relevant optimal control strategies or problems as a Markov decision process (MDP) as part of modeling work. For example, the rapid and adaptive generation of approximate control strategies (policy) can be achieved using two QC-assisted RL algorithms: policy iteration and policy gradient methods. The components shown in blue correspond to a quantum algorithm and are executed on a quantum computer. Quantum machine learning (QML) methods or models are not only used to build the surrogate model but are also applied to policy approximation by variational quantum circuits (VQCs).

© Fraunhofer IIS/Friesen

Expertise

© Fraunhofer IIS/Friesen

Fraunhofer IIS combines three areas of expertise that are essential for the development of hybrid systems: First among these is its expertise in key areas of machine learning, from classical methods to artificial intelligence (AI) and deep reinforcement learning. Secondly, it has expertise in the understanding of complex physical systems and processes, from the X-ray machine to the quantum computer. Lastly, we have also gained integral knowledge of industrial processes and requirements through countless industrial collaborations aimed at the profitable application of methods from the world of research.

 

What we offer

© Fraunhofer IIS/Friesen

Fraunhofer IIS helps you adapt machine learning processes to allow the efficient use of a quantum computer with a view to solving complex problems in your company processes more quickly. To facilitate calculations on quantum computers, we develop machine learning algorithms that reduce the error rates of the quantum computer, thereby delivering reliable results. As an R&D partner, we offer you not only our expertise in machine learning but also our knowledge of complex physical systems, as well as extensive industry knowledge gained through many years of practical experience.

Quantum Machine Learning

 

BayQS

 

 

The Bavarian Competence Center Quantum Security and Data Science BayQS researches relevant software issues in the context of quantum computing.

 

QuaST

 

 

In the QuaST research project, Fraunhofer IIS is developing the necessary software and services to enable or facilitate the use of currently available and future quantum computers by academic and industrial users.

 

QLindA

 

 

In the QLindA project (Quantum Reinforcement Learning for Industrial Applications), we are developing novel algorithms with partners to transfer reinforcement learning approaches to high-performance quantum computers.

Further information

ML4POS

Indoor positioning/position estimation with deep learning that replaces the signal processing chain.

Autonomous systems

Automation has become a ubiquitous part of our everyday lives and takes the burden off the user – that is, until a problem occurs. These errors can now be rectified by the machines themselves.

BayQS - Fraunhofer AISEC

The Bavarian Competence Center Quantum Security and Data Science (BayQS) researches relevant software problems in the context of quantum computing.

Mit den Gesetzen des Mikrokosmos schneller und besser Probleme lösen

Quantum Machine Learning zur Lösung industrieller Anwendungen

Auf einen Blick

 

Das Quantum Computing entwickelt sich von einer theoretischen Disziplin immer weiter zu einer angewandten. Die Entwicklung eines universellen, programmierbaren Quantencomputers ist mittlerweile keine reine Fiktion mehr, sondern wird mehr und mehr Realität. Dies ist von großer Brisanz: Durch die Möglichkeit, alle Rechenpfade zur Lösung komplexer Probleme mit verschränkten Qubits gleichzeitig durchzuführen, statt hintereinander wie bei klassischen Computern, sind enorme Leistungssteigerungen, besonders für Optimierungsprobleme denkbar. Dies kann allerdings nur gelingen, wenn die quantenmechanischen Phänomene der Verschränkung und Überlagerung von mikroskopischen Zuständen gezielt genutzt werden, um Information über die Lösung eines Problems aus dem Mikrokosmos in unsere makroskopische Welt zu holen und somit nutzbar zu machen. Wir nutzen das Potential möglicher Quantenvorteile bei der Lösung von allgegenwärtigen, industriell relevanten Entscheidungsproblemen und der Optimierung von Steuerungsaufgaben in der Fertigung und Industrie.

© DP - stock.adobe.com
Quantencomputer

Die Technologie

 

Basierend auf unserer Expertise in den Bereichen des Machine Learning, Deep Learning und Reinforcement Learning entwickeln wir hybride Techniken, welche Quantenrechner und herkömmliche, klassische Computer nutzen. So wird die Lernprozedur der Reinforcement-Learning-Verfahren zur Erzeugung von Kontrollstrategien in dynamischen und stochastischen Optimalsteuerungsproblemen verbessert und beschleunigt. Damit lassen sich für zeitkritische und rechenintensive Anwendungen in kürzerer Zeit bessere, approximative Kontrollstrategien finden.

Quantencomputing - gestütztes Reinforcement Learning

 

Da die Implementierung von Quantenalgorithmen einem völlig anderen Paradigma als gewöhnliche Programmieransätze für konventionelle Hardware folgt, erfordern auf Quantencomputing (QC) basierte Lösungsansätze einen anderen als den gewohnten Zugang. Im Rahmen von Forschungsprojekten werden modellbasierte und modellfreie QC-gestützte Reinforcement-Learning-Verfahren entwickelt. Besonderes Gewicht liegt auf der Erforschung der sogenannten Noisy Intermediate-Scale Quantum (NISQ) Technologie und damit verbundenen Quantenalgorithmen. Wir nutzen dazu auch Synergien zwischen maschinellem Lernen und variationellen, also im Grunde adaptiven bzw. lernenden Quantenalgorithmen. Hierzu werden industriell relevante Optimalsteuerungs- bzw. Kontrollprobleme in einem Modellierungsprozess als Markov’sches Entscheidungsproblem (MDP) formuliert. Zur schnellen und adaptiven Erzeugung von approximativen Kontrollstrategien (Policy) sind beispielsweise zwei QC-gestützte RL-Algorithmen einsetzbar: Policy-Iteration- und Policy-Gradienten-Verfahren. Blau unterlegt sind die Komponenten, die einem Quantenalgorithmus entsprechen und auf einem Quantenrechner ausgeführt werden. Sowohl für die Bildung des Surrogatmodells als auch bei der Policy-Approximation durch Variational Quantum Circuits (VQCs) kommen Methoden bzw. Modelle des Quantum Machine Learning (QML) zum Einsatz.

© Fraunhofer IIS/Friesen

Kompetenz

© Fraunhofer IIS/Friesen

Das Fraunhofer IIS vereinigt drei Kompetenzen, die für die Entwicklung hybrider Systeme essentiell sind: Zum einen die Kompetenz in wesentlichen Bereichen des maschinellen Lernens, von klassischen Methoden über künstliche Intelligenz (KI) bis hin zu Deep Reinforcement Learning. Zum anderen die Kompetenz im Verständnis komplexer physikalischer Systeme und Prozesse, vom Röntgengerät bis hin zum Quantenrechner. Darüber hinaus bringen wir eine integrale Kenntnis industrieller Prozesse und Anforderungen aus unzähligen Industriekooperationen für die gewinnbringende Anwendung von Methoden aus der Forschung mit.

 

Angebot

© Fraunhofer IIS/Friesen

Das Fraunhofer IIS unterstützt Sie in der Anpassung von Machine Learning Verfahren für die effiziente Nutzung eines Quantencomputers, um komplexe Problemstellungen in Ihren Unternehmensprozessen schneller zu lösen. Hierfür entwickeln wir Machine Learning Algorithmen für Berechnungen auf Quantencomputern, welche die Fehlerquoten des Quantencomputers reduzieren und somit zuverlässige Ergebnisse sicherstellen. Als F&E Partner bieten wir Ihnen, neben unserem Machine Learning Know-How, Wissen zu komplexen physikalischen Systemen und umfassende Industriekenntnisse durch langjährige Erfahrung aus der Praxis.

Weitere Informationen

Wir stellen ein!

Sie finden es spannend, sich mit der Forschung und Entwicklung innovativer Zukunftstechnologien zu beschäftigen? Quantencomputing und Reinforcement Learning finden Sie ebenfalls spannend?

ML4POS

Indoor-Lokalisierung / Positionsschätzung mit Deep Learning, wodurch die Signalverarbeitungskette ersetzt wird.

Autonome Systeme

Automatisierung begegnet uns im Alltag inzwischen überall. Dass etwas automatisch läuft, ist so lange entlastend, bis ein Problem entsteht. Inzwischen können diese Fehler von den Maschinen selbst behoben werden.

BayQS - Fraunhofer AISEC

Das Bayerische Kompetenzzentrum Quanten Security and Data Science BayQS erforscht relevante Software-Fragestellungen im Zusammenhang des Quanten-Computing.