Holodeck 4.0 - discover new worlds

Holodeck 4.0

Our offer

© Fraunhofer IIS/Kurt Fuchs

Fraunhofer IIS Positioning Technology for Holodeck 4.0 VR Applications

FRAUNHOFER IIS

With our established positioning know-how, we can help you develop a positioning system for virtual reality applications. Radio positioning and communication have been a core competence at Fraunhofer IIS for over 20 years. Our 50 scientists are working on the wireless technologies and positioning solutions of tomorrow. Fraunhofer IIS also offers interactive use of 3D models from various applications in L.I.N.K. In this unique test and application center, an area of 1400 square meters gives you all the space you need to perform practical tests for your applications under realistic conditions.

HOLODECK VR GMBH

Holodeck VR GmbH is your point of contact for purchasing, renting and adapting holodeck systems. Together with you and tailored to your requirements, our engineers develop a virtual reality application that is matched to the customer’s local requirements.

Technology

Highly precise positioning technology

In Holodeck 4.0, positioning is based on a fusion of various technologies developed at Fraunhofer IIS. Free movement in large areas of virtual worlds calls for highly precise positioning technology and Fraunhofer IIS offers vast expertise in this field for all kinds of applications.

Head-mounted display

Each individual head movement is tracked, with sensors on the head-mounted display providing the data required to determine the position. In this way, the virtual world can be perfectly tailored to each movement immediately. Thanks to the mobile system layout, it’s possible to comfortably and wirelessly move through the real world.

Predicting movements

Precisely tracking of head movements makes it possible to predict what movement will come next. This in turn means that VR content can be adapted more quickly and precisely.

Incorporating the senses

A special feature of the system is that it can even track hand movements in real time and incorporate them into the simulation. These movements can be made part of the content, making the virtual experience even more realistic. What’s more, sound effects can intensify the experience.

A wealth of different applications are possible with Holodeck 4.0 VR

Examples:

Production and logistics

Architecture, construction and city planning

Healthcare

Information and entertainment

Security and safety

Production and logistics

In the era of Industrie 4.0, virtual reality is already established in production and logistics processes. The system developed by Fraunhofer IIS helps optimize procedures and transport processes as well as the planning of new large industrial plants. Thanks to a high level of planning quality, made possible by timely digital safeguarding, it’s possible to avoid collisions in the manufacturing process, reduce downtimes and train employees in VR.

© Kurt Fuchs

Museums and architecture

Smart city concepts are geared towards the more efficient design and technologically advanced planning of cities, areas in which Fraunhofer IIS technology plays a major role. By mapping buildings and cities in the virtual world of Holodeck 4.0, concepts can be compared before planning and building begin, thus paving the way for the best solution. In turn, this avoids mistakes in planning, reduces costs and enables new planning approaches to be tested. And in amusement parks for instance such concepts can take the entertainment value to a whole new level.

Security and safety

Holodeck 4.0 offers significant advantages for many areas of healthcare. Virtual exposure therapy achieves comparable results to traditional exposure therapy but costs much less. Moreover, it avoids real-world hazards, thus ensuring patient safety. Holodeck 4.0 also represents a giant leap in training and safety techniques. It’s possible for instance to test out how the military, fire service, rescue services and other public safety teams respond to disaster scenarios – cost-effectively and under real conditions. This means that safety forces receive the best possible training for real-life events and can apply what they have learned more effectively in complicated situations.

© Kurt Fuchs

Information and entertainment

Holodeck 4.0 plays a key role in information and entertainment. For instance, using the system developed by Fraunhofer IIS, disabled people can tour a museum that in real life is not barrier-free. The system can help what are known as serious games to convey complex or dry content in an exciting way and  could also start a revolution in 3D cinema. Here, the viewer wouldn’t be restricted by the particular shot angle, but could pause the film and move freely within it. Other applications include the use in amusement parks (e.g. rollercoasters or chambers of horrors). Holodeck 4.0 is also an innovative application for multiplayer games and gesture control.  

Hackathon Holodeck

Launched under the motto "Create your own future" the Fraunhofer IIS organized in the year 2016 a "Holodeck-Hackathon". 50 Participants developed Apps, Games and more VR-stuff together.

 

Flyer for Holodeck 4.0 - Virtual Reality at Fraunhofer IIS

Holodeck 4.0 - Neue Welten entdecken

Holodeck 4.0 Virtual Reality

Angebot

Foto: Kurt Fuchs/ Fraunhofer IIS

FRAUNHOFER IIS

Mit unserem fundierten Know-How im Bereich Lokalisierung können wir Sie bei der Entwicklung eines Lokalisierungssystems für Virtual Reality Anwendungen unterstützen.

Denn für das IIS sind Funkortung und -kommunikation ist seit mehr als 20 Jahren eine Kernkompetenz. Unsere 50 Wissenschaftler arbeiten an den drahtlosen Technologien und Lokalisierungslösungen von morgen. Das Fraunhofer IIS bietet auch die interaktive Nutzung von 3D Modellen aus den unterschiedlichsten Anwendungsbereichen im weltweit einzigartigen Test- und Anwendungszentrum L.I.N.K. an. Auf 1400 qm Bewegungsfreiraum können Sie anwendungsnah Ihre Anforderung testen.

HOLODECK VR GMBH

Die Holodeck VR GmbH ist der Ansprechpartner für Kauf, Vermietung und Anpassung von Holodeck-Systemen.

Zusammen mit Ihnen und maßgeschneidert auf ihr Anforderungsprofil entwickeln die Ingenieure unseres Institutes eine Virtual Reality Anwendung, welche auf die lokalen Anforderungen beim Kunden abgestimmt wird.

 

Die Technologie

Hochpräzise Lokalisierungstechnologie

Die Lokalisierung in Holodeck 4.0 basiert auf einer Fusionierung von unterschiedlichen vom Fraunhofer IIS entwickelten Lokalisierungstechnologien. Um die freie Bewegung in den virtuellen Welten in einem großen Bereich möglich zu machen, bedarf es einer hochpräzisen Lokalisierungstechnologie. Hier bietet das Fraunhofer IIS große Kompetenz für verschiedenste Anwendungsbereiche.

Head-Mounted Display

Jede kleine Kopfbewegung wird getracked - die für die Orientierungsbestimmung erforderlichen Daten stammen  von Sensoren am Head-Mounted-Display. So kann die virtuelle Welt direkt perfekt an jede Bewegung angepasst werden. Durch das mobile Systemlayout ist eine komfortable und drahtlose Bewegung in der realen Welt möglich.

Bewegungen vorhersagen

Durch das genaue Tracking der Kopfbewegungen, lassen sich auch nachfolgende Bewegungen vorhersehen. Der VR-Content kann umso schneller und präziser angepasst werden.

Sinne einbeziehen

Das Besondere: sogar Hände können in Echtzeit getracked und in die Simulation einbezogen werden. Sie können im Content dargestellt werden und machen die virtuelle Erfahrung so noch realer. Soundeffekte können diesen Effekt noch intensivieren.

Vielfältige Anwendungsfelder von Holodeck 4.0 Virtual Reality

Beispiele

Produktion und Logistik

Architektur, Bau und Stadtplanung

Healthcare

Information und Unterhaltung

Sicherheit

Anwendungsbereiche unserer VR- Technologien

Produktion und Logistik

In Produktions- und Logistikprozessen ist die Anwendung von Virtual Reality im Zeitalter von Industrie 4.0 bereits etabliert. Das System des Fraunhofer IIS unterstützt dabei bei der Optimierung von Prozess- und Transportabläufen sowie bei der Planung von neuen großen Industrieanlagen. Durch eine hohe Planungsqualität durch frühzeitige digitale Absicherung können Kollisionen im Fertigungsprozess vermieden, Ausfallzeiten reduziert und Mitarbeiter durch VR-Training qualifiziert werden.

Museen und Architektur

Konzepte zur Smart City zielen auf die effizientere Gestaltung und der technologisch fortschrittlicheren Planung von Städten ab. Die Technologie des Fraunhofer IIS leistet hierzu einen wichtigen Beitrag. Durch die Darstellung von Gebäuden und Städten in den virtuellen Welten von Holodeck 4.0 können bereits vor dem Bau und der Planung Konzepte miteinander verglichen werden, um eine bestmögliche Lösung zu ermitteln. So werden Fehlplanungen vermieden, Kosten reduziert und neue Planungsansätze ausgetestet. Beipsielsweise in Freizeitparks kann die Unterhaltung auf ein neues Level gehoben werden.

Training und Sicherheit

Für viele Bereiche im Gesundheitswesen bietet der Einsatz von Holodeck 4.0 erhebliche Vorteile. Die virtuelle Konfrontationstherapie weist vergleichbare Erfolge wie die klassische Konfrontationstherapie auf und verursacht dabei wesentlich geringere Kosten. Außerdem werden Gefahren der realen Welt vermieden und somit die Sicherheit der Patienten gewährleistet. Mit Holodeck 4.0 wird auch ein großer Fortschritt im Schulungsbereich der Sicherheitstechnik geschaffen. Unter realen Bedingungen können beispielsweise Katastrophenszenarien im Militär, Feuerwehr, Rettungsdienst und anderen Sicherheitsbereichen kostengünstig erprobt werden. Somit werden die Sicherheitskräfte für den realen Einsatz bestens vorbereitet und können auch in schwierigen Situationen ihr gelerntes Wissen besser einsetzen.

Information und Unterhaltung

Holodeck 4.0 leistet einen wichtigen Beitrag im Bereich Information und Unterhaltung. Mit dem System des Fraunhofer IIS können sich beispielsweise Menschen mit Behinderung durch ein nicht-barrierefreies Museum bewegen. Sogenannte Serious Games vermitteln auch schwierige oder trockene Inhalte anschaulich. Denkbar ist auch ein revolutionäres 3D-Kino. Hierbei muss der Zuschauer sich nicht auf eine Perspektive im Film festlegen, sondern kann den Film beliebig anhalten und in ihm frei bewegen. Weitere Anwendungsmöglichkeiten stellen Serious Games sowie die Nutzung im Freizeitpark (z.B. Achterbahn oder Gruselkabinett) dar. Besonders im Bereich Multiplayer und Gestensteuerung ist Holodeck 4.0 eine innovative Anwendung. 

Hackathon Holodeck

Unter dem Motto „Create your own future“ veranstaltet das Fraunhofer IIS 2016 erstmals „Holodeck- Hackathon“. Dazu trafen sich 50 Teilnehmer und entwickelten gemeinsam Apps, Games und mehr zum Thema Virtual Reality.

 

Flyer zu Holodeck 4.0 Virtual Reality am Fraunhofer IIS