OPAL-Health

OPAL-Health

Optimizing Hospital Processes

Hospitals are under increasing pressure to reduce costs. This means that they will need to use their resources even more efficiently in the future. Fraunhofer IIS has now developed a wireless system for locating medical equipment and blood products as well as for condition monitoring. The project, which is called »OPAL-Health«, makes managing medical equipment easier and improves the safety of transfusion procedures.

 

Getting a grip on the hospital routine

»OPAL-Health« makes it possible to continuously monitor and document the transport, storage and use of medical equipment such as portable ECG machines. The system which will be developed facilitates the management of medical equipment by helping to detect overcapacity, enabling simpler, more transparent cost assessment and streamlining administration and planning. In addition, it offers protection against theft and tampering.

 

»Smart Objects« - Self-organizing helpers

The system consists of what are known as »smart objects« – microelectronic modules which are able to gather and save information from their environment and communicate wirelessly. These abilities are based on Fraunhofer IIS’s s-net® technology for energy saving, wireless sensor networks.

The sensor nodes form a wireless network which organizes itself and constantly collects needed data such as location or temperature. The information is then transmitted to the hospital’s main informational system. By their innate intelligence the sensor nodes can also make decisions on-site without the central server which is particularly important when matching blood products to patients.

Integrated power supplies allow the smart objects to activate autonomously so they can e. g. alert critical conditions. They do not need to be activated by an RFID reader and also transmit using much less power. As a result, the electromagnetic field can be minimized, which prevents interference. This is particularly important if smart objects are attached to medical devices or used in their immediate vicinity.

This newly developed technology not only enables much more efficient equipment management, but also improves blood transfusion safety, as smart objects can be used to continuously monitor the temperature of blood products. If the cold chain is interrupted, the system will automatically raise an alert. Keeping a continuous record of the storage conditions of blood products also saves resources. Thanks to this new technology, unused blood products which would currently have to be discarded because the cold chain is not reliably recorded will be safe to use in the future. »OPAL-Health« also minimizes the risk of mix-ups.

 

Trial Run at Erlangen University Hospital

The system can be seamlessly integrated into a hospital’s information systems, which makes it possible to reuse and analyze the data for other purposes, for instance more efficient stock management. Since 2010 the system is being tested in the context of actual day-to-day processes at Erlangen University Hospital.

 

Consortium

The »OPAL-Health« project is directed by T-Systems. The project partners – namely the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS; the Fraunhofer Center Supply Chain Services SCS; Friedrich-Alexander University, Erlangen-Nuremberg; Vierling Communications and Delta-T – are working together on a basic technology for a wide range of applications geared towards optimizing hospital processes.

»OPAL-Health« is sponsored by the German Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology as part of its “SimoBIT” program, which is aimed at developing secure mobile IT applications that help medium-sized companies and public agencies to maximize value creation.

Smart Objects

OPAL-Health: Optimierte Prozesse in Kliniken durch Smart Objects

Im Gesundheitswesen herrscht hoher Kostendruck – Tendenz steigend. Für Kliniken bedeutet das, dass sie ihre Ressourcen zukünftig noch effizienter nutzen müssen. Das Fraunhofer IIS hat nun ein System zur drahtlosen Ortung und Umfeldüberwachung für medizinische Geräte und Blutkonserven entwickelt: Mit »OPAL-Health« wird das Gerätemanagement erleichtert – und die Sicherheit in der Transfusionsmedizin erhöht.

 

Verbesserte Prozesse im Klinikalltag

Transport, Lagerung und Nutzung medizinischer Geräte wie z. B. mobiler EKGs lassen sich mit Hilfe von »OPAL-Health« lückenlos nachverfolgen und dokumentieren. Das Gerätemanagement wird auf diese Weise erheblich erleichtert: Überkapazitäten werden erkannt, die Kostenrechnung wird transparenter und einfacher, Verwaltung und Planung effizienter. Nicht zuletzt ermöglicht das System Schutz vor Diebstahl oder Manipulation.

 

 

»Smart Objects« im Asset Management − Selbstorganisierte kleine Helfer

Der Begriff „Smart Objects“ steht für intelligente Objekte, die Informationen erfassen, speichern und mit ihrer Umgebung interagieren können. Basis der Smart Objects von OPAL-Health ist die s-net® Vernetzungstechnologie des Fraunhofer IIS für drahtlose, energiesparende Sensornetzwerke.

Die einzelnen Sensorknoten bilden hierbei ein aktives Funksystem, sammeln und ermitteln permanent Informationen wie z. B. Position und Temperatur, speichern diese und melden sie an ein zentrales Krankenhausinformationssystem. Durch die eigene Intelligenz auf den Sensorknoten können Entscheidungen direkt vor Ort ohne zentralen Server getroffen werden, vor allem beim Matching von Blutkonserve zu Patient ist dies von entscheidender Bedeutung.

Smart Objects können selbstständig aktiv werden und so z.B. kritische Zustände melden. Im Unterschied dazu sind RFID Tags auf die Aktivierung durch ein Lesegerät angewiesen. Für diese Aktivierung senden RFID-Lesegeräte mit hohen Sendeleistungen. Die s-net-Technologie sendet mit einer deutlich geringeren Leistung. Das elektromagnetische Feld lässt sich so auf ein Minimum reduzieren, wodurch störende Interferenzen vermieden werden: Für ein Anbringen an medizinischen Geräten und einem Einsatz in deren Nähe ganz besonders wichtig.

 

OPAL-Health verbessert mit s-net® die Prozesse im klinischen Alltag.
© Fraunhofer IIS

OPAL-Health verbessert mit s-net® die Prozesse im klinischen Alltag.

Die neu entwickelte Technologie verhilft nicht nur zu einem deutlich effizienteren Management, sondern eignet sich auch hervorragend dazu, die Sicherheit bei Bluttransfusionen zu optimieren. Denn mithilfe der »Smart Objects« lässt sich die Temperatur einer Blutkonserve kontinuierlich überwachen. Wird die Kühlkette unterbrochen, gibt das System selbsttätig Alarm. Durch die lückenlose Dokumentation über Zustand und Lagerung werden auch Ressourcen geschont: Bisher müssen nicht gebrauchte Konserven aufgrund unsicherer Informationen weggeworfen werden – durch die neue Technologie können sie zukünftig unbedenklich verwendet werden. Auch die Verwechslungsgefahr bei Blutkonserven wird dank »OPAL-Health« minimiert.

 

Praxistest am Universitätsklinikum Erlangen

Das System integriert sich nahtlos in die klinischen Informationssysteme und erlaubt dadurch die weitere Nutzung und Auswertung der Daten, beispielsweise für nutzergerechte Abrechnung der Gerätekosten oder effizienteres Bestandsmanagement. Am Universitätsklinikum Erlangen wurde das System in der klinischen Routine 2010 evaluiert.

 

Projektkonsortium

Im Projekt »OPAL-Health« arbeiteten unter Leitung von T-Systems die Projektpartner Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS, Fraunhofer-Arbeitsgruppe Supply Chain Services SCS, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Vierling Communications GmbH und Delta-T gemeinsam an einer Basistechnologie zur Prozessoptimierung in Kliniken und Krankenhäusern, die breitenwirksam angewendet werden kann.

»OPAL-Health« wurde im Rahmen des Programms »SimoBIT – sichere Anwendung der mobilen Informationstechnik (IT) zur Wertschöpfungssteigerung in Mittelstand und Verwaltung« durch das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Technologie gefördert.