Human perception goes digital at the Campus of the Senses in Erlangen

/ 1.9.2017

Future multisensory digital systems will have the ability to understand and simulate human sensory perception. The aim of the Campus of the Senses in Erlangen is to conduct fundamental research into the digitalization of human sensory experiences and to derive new technologies and services from this knowledge. The Campus of the Senses is a joint initiative of the Fraunhofer Institutes IIS and IVV in cooperation with Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU).

© Photo iStock.com/PeopleImages

At the Campus of the Senses in Erlangen, the Fraunhofer Institutes IIS and IVV and university researchers from FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg intend to study human sensory experiences and convert them into digital form.

The trend toward digitalization, until now mostly associated with industry, is increasingly spreading to all other areas of life, including people’s everyday activities. The Campus of the Senses in Erlangen intends to digitally recreate human senses such as sight and hearing, and especially the chemical senses of taste and smell. For instance, machines could be designed to help people who have lost their sense of taste and smell due to an infection determine whether food has gone bad.

Our understanding of the complex processes of human sensory perception is still relatively limited, and many questions remain unanswered. How do the different senses interact? Do people react differently to movies if they are simultaneously exposed to contradictory smells? Will I experience less stress at work if disturbing odors are replaced by more pleasant ones?

Everyday help for people with impaired sensory perception

Many of the neurological processes involved in taste and smell perception are unconscious. With the support of machines, it might be possible to enhance people’s conscious awareness of their environment, and hence enable them to respond more appropriately to possible risks and dangers. The challenge lies in designing machines capable of recording and interpreting human sensory perceptions and transforming them into digital form. The Campus of the Senses addresses precisely these topics.

The Campus of the Senses in Erlangen adds new sense to the digital transformation of businesses

Established companies and startups in almost any sector of business are invited to work together with the Campus of the Senses in Erlangen. With the support of research partners, they can use the facilities to develop new methods and technologies for collecting and interpreting empirical data on the human senses and sensory perceptions, including the development of sensory aids and the analysis of human responses to sensory stimuli.

Human-centered research in Erlangen

The planned infrastructure of the Campus of the Senses in Erlangen consists of three laboratories, each focusing on a different area of research, coordinated by a central office. Scientists with expertise in many different areas, including engineering, medicine, chemistry and neuroscience, can work here hand in hand to build knowledge, develop interdisciplinary expertise, and promote technology transfer in the field of sensory research and development. This will create new opportunities for scientific leadership: From the development of intelligent sensors and algorithms to extended man-machine interfaces and multi-sensory systems for stimulation.

The long-term goal of the Campus of the Senses in Erlangen is to secure Germany’s competitiveness by reinforcing its pioneering, international role in the field of the digitalization of the senses.

The campus will be built up over a period of five years, during which the central office will be established and the various laboratories and the technical infrastructure will go into operation. More importantly, a platform for joint creative research projects will be established to allow new methods and technologies to be developed beyond the confines of traditional scientific disciplines.

The Campus of the Senses in Erlangen is a joint initiative of the Fraunhofer Institutes IIS and IVV in cooperation with Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU). The kick-off will be held at Fraunhofer IIS in Erlangen on September 15, 2017.

Die menschliche Wahrnehmung wird digital im »Campus der Sinne Erlangen«

/ 29.8.2017

Multisensorische digitale Systeme sollen künftig menschliche Sinneswahrnehmungen nachbilden und verstehen können. Im »Campus der Sinne Erlangen« ist es Ziel, die Digitalisierung aller menschlichen Sinneserfahrungen in den Grundlagen zu erforschen und daraus konkrete neue Technologien und Dienstleistungen abzuleiten. Der Campus der Sinne ist eine Initiative der Fraunhofer-Institute IIS und IVV in Kooperation mit der Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg.

© Foto iStock.com/PeopleImages

Im »Campus der Sinne Erlangen« wollen die Fraunhofer-Institute IIS und IVV sowie die Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg gemeinsam mit Unternehmen menschliche Sinneserfahrungen erforschen und digital umsetzen.

Die Digitalisierung, bisher noch vornehmlich der Industrie zugeschrieben, greift immer mehr in alle Lebensbereiche und in den Alltag des Menschen ein. Im Campus der Sinne Erlangen sollen die menschlichen Sinne wie Sehen und Hören, aber vor allem auch die »chemischen« Sinne Riechen und Schmecken, digital erfasst werden. Maschinen können beispielsweise Menschen helfen, die ihren Riech- und Geschmackssinn durch einen Infekt verloren haben und nicht feststellen können, ob Lebensmittel verdorben sind.

Dabei sind die Sinneswahrnehmungen beim Menschen oft generell noch wenig verstanden, gerade in ihrer Komplexität. Wie beeinflussen sich Sinneswahrnehmungen gegenseitig? Wie wirkt ein Film, wenn ich dabei den falschen Geruch in der Nase habe? Werde ich in der Arbeitswelt weniger gestresst, wenn bestimmte Gerüche am Arbeitsplatz durch andere ersetzt werden?

Menschen mit Wahrnehmungsbeeinträchtigungen im Alltag unterstützen

Gerade beim Riechen und Schmecken sind viele Wahrnehmungsprozesse unbewusst, maschinelle Systeme können dem Menschen helfen, seine Umwelt, auch mögliche Gefahren und Risiken, bewusster wahrzunehmen und besser darauf zu reagieren. Die technische Herausforderung liegt in der maschinellen Erfassung und Interpretation menschlicher Sinneswahrnehmungen und deren Transformation ins Digitale. Der Campus der Sinne beschäftigt sich genau mit diesen Themen.

Der Campus der Sinne Erlangen bringt den digitalen Sinneswandel in Unternehmen

Unternehmen und Start-ups aus nahezu allen Branchen haben die Möglichkeit, im Campus der Sinne Erlangen mitzuarbeiten. Gemeinsam mit den Forschungspartnern können sie neue Methoden und Technologien zur Erfassung und Interpretation menschlicher Sinne und Sinneswahrnehmungen und zur Unterstützung von Sinneswahrnehmungen entwickeln oder menschliche Reaktionen auf solche Sinneseindrücke auswerten.

Menschenzentrierte Forschung in Erlangen

Die geplante Struktur des Campus der Sinne Erlangen sieht drei Laboratorien mit unterschiedlichen Leistungsschwerpunkten vor, die Koordination liegt bei einer gemeinsamen Geschäftsstelle. Wissenschaftler aus verschiedensten Disziplinen, wie Ingenieurwissenschaft, Medizin, Chemie und Neurowissenschaften arbeiten Hand in Hand zusammen, um Wissensaufbau, interdisziplinäre Kompetenzentwicklung und Technologietransfer im Bereich der digitalisierten Sensorik voranzutreiben.

Langfristig sollen mit dem Campus der Sinne Erlangen die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Standortes Deutschland gesichert und auf internationaler Ebene eine Vorreiterrolle im Bereich der »Digitalen Sensorik« eingenommen werden.

Für den Aufbau des Campus der Sinne Erlangen ist ein zeitlicher Rahmen von fünf Jahren angesetzt. In dieser Zeit soll die Geschäftsstelle aufgebaut und die Laboratorien und die technische Infrastruktur in Betrieb genommen werden und insbesondere eine Plattform für gemeinsames kreatives Forschen und Arbeiten, und die Entwicklung neuer Methoden und Technologien über die Grenzen von Fachdisziplinen hinweg geschaffen werden.

Der Campus der Sinne Erlangen ist eine Initiative der Fraunhofer Institute IIS und IVV in Kooperation mit der Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg und führt als Erlanger Einrichtung interdisziplinäre Grundlagen- und Anwendungsforschung zusammen. Die Auftaktveranstaltung findet am 15. September 2017 am Fraunhofer IIS statt.