New Dimension of X-ray Analysis – Joseph von Fraunhofer Prize 2018 Goes to Fraunhofer IIS Researchers

/ 15.5.2018

Erlangen/Fürth/Berlin, Germany: Researchers at Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS succeeded in scanning objects as massive as freight containers, and analyzing them with three-dimensional images. The Joseph von Fraunhofer Prize 2018 went to Michael Salamon, Nils Reims, and Dr. Michael Böhnel for the development of XXL computed tomography. This is the sixth time in a row that Fraunhofer IIS was honored with the prize.

© Kurt Fuchs / Fraunhofer

With the XXL computed tomography developed by Dr. Michael Böhnel, Nils Reims, Michael Salamon (from the left), it is now possible to analyze even very large objects with X-ray technology.

© Fraunhofer IIS / Kurt Fuchs

With the XXL computed tomography developed by Dr. Michael Böhnel, Nils Reims, Michael Salamon (from the left), it is now possible to analyze even very large objects with X-ray technology.

Computed tomography with X-rays is nowadays playing an important role even outside of medicine. For example, for product development for industrial applications. However, computed tomography has so far been limited to smaller and simpler objects, especially in the field of high energy, due to unavailable suitable reconstruction and correction algorithms and sensors. The existing large CT systems are severely limited in their scope of functions for large objects.

Researchers from the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS have now made significant progress in this regard. Michael Salamon, Nils Reims and Dr. Michael Böhnel have developed a technology that also illuminates very large objects and generates high-resolution 3D images.

As an X-ray source, the researchers use a linear accelerator with nine mega-electron volts (MeV) and combine it with an X-ray camera that works with a sensitive length of four meters and 10,000 pixels. For the first time, objects with a diameter of 3.20 meters and a height of five meters can be recorded with three-dimensional X-rays – special technology in which a large object is recorded in parts also allows the scanning of even larger objects. This makes the system the currently largest CT system in the world.

The objects are rotated on a heavy duty turntable. The camera and the radiation source scan the object synchronously in vertical motion, line by line. Due to the rotation of the turntable, the camera records many viewing angles, thereby creating the basis for the three-dimensional representation.

Crash tests in X-ray images

With the XXL-CT, electric cars, for example, can be analyzed after a crash test. Previously, the objects had to be disassembled in a time-consuming process in order to analyze the structure and inner workings. Non-destructive X-ray inspection now makes it possible to perform a detailed analysis of the structure and materials of the object that were previously inaccessible, such as entire battery modules. The strong X-rays even make structures in densely packed batteries visible.

The quality of the 3D images has impressed even skeptics. Group Manager Salamon explains: "Previously, it was thought that high-energy structures would no longer be recognizable, since low-absorption materials tend to be overshadowed by high-absorption ones. The common opinion was that a lot of KV turns everything gray. With our development, we’ve proven the opposite."

In order to maintain the required quality of the 3D X-ray image, the researchers had to work on further innovations in addition to the linear accelerator and the large line X-ray camera. Together with their industrial partner MT Mechatronics, they have developed a design that enables extremely precise positioning even with objects weighing several tons. The processing of the X-ray data has also been optimized such that it can be automated with as little user interaction as possible, thereby enabling future use in the industrial environment.

Inspection of freight containers

Another application example is the inspection of sea freight containers. Many freight containers are already X-rayed in ports, but only in two dimensions. Thanks to 3D X-ray technology, even small objects inside the containers become clearly visible. Especially for security agencies which inspect freight containers for explosives or weapons, as well as for customs authorities that are looking for contraband, the IIS technology provides a decisive added value.

In addition to its use in industry, XXL computed tomography opens up many more applications. As a result, historical objects such as musical instruments for which cutting open and disassembling is out of the question can be X-rayed. In a particularly spectacular action, the Fraunhofer specialists scanned a 65-million-year-old dinosaur skull. The skull of the Tyrannosaurus Rex remained in a box during the X-ray procedure, together with the surrounding soil in which the paleontologists had found it.

The Fraunhofer research team is already planning the next step: in a gantry CT, linear accelerator and camera are to circle around the object. The object itself remains still and does not have to be positioned vertically. A prototype is currently being developed in cooperation with MT Mechatronics.

Joseph von Fraunhofer Prize is endowed with 50,000 euros.

The Joseph von Fraunhofer Prize has been awarded by the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft every year since 1978, in recognition of outstanding scientific work by members of its staff leading to the solution of application-oriented problems. The Joseph von Fraunhofer Prize is endowed with 50,000 euros.

Neue Dimension in der Röntgenanalyse – Joseph-von-Fraunhofer-Preis 2018 für Forscher des Fraunhofer IIS

/ 15.5.2018

Erlangen/Fürth/Berlin: Forschern des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS ist es gelungen, sehr große Objekte, wie etwa Frachtcontainer, zu durchleuchten und mit dreidimensionalen Bildern zu analysieren. Für die XXL-Computertomographie wurden Michael Salamon, Nils Reims und Dr. Michael Böhnel mit dem Joseph-von-Fraunhofer-Preis 2018 ausgezeichnet. Das Fraunhofer IIS konnte den Preis damit zum sechsten Mal in Folge gewinnen.

© Kurt Fuchs / Fraunhofer

Mit der von Dr. Michael Böhnel, Nils Reims und Michael Salamon (v.l.n.r.) entwickelten XXL-Computertomographie, lassen sich auch sehr große Objekte mit Röntgentechnik durchleuchten.

© Fraunhofer IIS / Kurt Fuchs

Erstmals sind Objekte mit einem Durchmesser von 3,20 Meter und fünf Meter Höhe mit Röntgenstrahlen erfassbar.

Die Computertomographie mit Röntgenstrahlung spielt inzwischen auch abseits der Medizin eine wesentliche Rolle. Beispielsweise bei der Produktentwicklung in der Industrie. Doch bislang war die Computertomographie insbesondere im Hochenergiebereich auf Grund von nicht verfügbaren geeigneten Rekonstruktions- und Korrekturalgorithmen und Sensoren beschränkt auf kleinere und einfache Objekte. Die vorhandenen großen CT-Anlagen sind in ihrem Funktionsumfang für große Objekte stark eingeschränkt.

Forschern vom Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS ist nun ein bedeutender Fortschritt gelungen. Michael Salamon, Nils Reims und Dr. Michael Böhnel haben eine Technologie entwickelt, die auch sehr große Objekte durchleuchtet und hochauflösende 3D-Bilder generiert.

Als Röntgenquelle nutzen die Forscher einen Linearbeschleuniger mit neun Megaelektronenvolt (MeV) und kombinieren ihn mit einer Röntgenkamera, die mit einer sensitiven Länge von vier Metern und 10 000 Pixeln arbeitet. Erstmals sind Objekte mit einem Durchmesser von 3,20 Meter und fünf Meter Höhe mit Röntgenstrahlen erfassbar – eine spezielle Technik, die ein Großobjekt in Teilen aufnimmt, ermöglicht sogar das Scannen noch größerer Objekte. Damit ist die Anlage die zurzeit größte CT-Anlage der Welt.

Die Objekte werden auf einem Schwerlastdrehteller rotiert. Kamera und Strahlenquelle tasten das Objekt synchron in vertikalen Bewegungen Zeile für Zeile ab. Durch die Rotation des Drehtellers erfasst die Kamera viele Betrachtungswinkel und schafft so die Basis für die dreidimensionale Darstellung.

Crashtest im Röntgenbild

Mit dem XXL-CT lassen sich beispielsweise Elektroautos nach einem Crashtest analysieren. Bisher musste man Objekte zeitaufwändig zerlegen, um Aufbau und Innenleben analysieren zu können. Durch die zerstörungsfreie Röntgenprüfung lassen sich jetzt Struktur und Materialien des Objekts im Detail analysieren, die bislang unzugänglich waren, zum Beispiel ganze Batteriemodule. Die starke Röntgenstrahlung macht sogar Strukturen in den dicht gepackten Akkus sichtbar.

Die Qualität der 3D-Bilder hat auch Skeptiker überzeugt. Gruppenleiter Salamon erklärt: »Man hat früher geglaubt, dass die Strukturen im Hochenergiebereich nicht mehr erkennbar seien, weil Materialien mit niedriger Absorptionsrate von den mit hoher Absorptionsrate sozusagen überschattet werden. Viel KV macht grau, das war die landläufige Meinung. Mit unserer Entwicklung haben wir das Gegenteil bewiesen.«

Um das 3D-Röntgenbild in der nötigen Qualität zu erhalten, mussten die Forscher neben dem Linearbeschleuniger und der großen Zeilenröntgenkamera an weiteren Innovationen arbeiten. So haben sie gemeinsam mit dem Industriepartner MT Mechatronics eine Konstruktion entwickelt, die auch bei tonnenschweren Objekten eine extrem präzise Positionierung ermöglicht. Auch die Verarbeitung der Röntgendaten wurden so optimiert, dass diese mit möglichst wenig Nutzerinteraktion automatisiert möglich ist und damit eine zukünftige Nutzung im industriellen Umfeld ermöglicht.

Kontrolle von Frachtcontainern

Ein weiteres Anwendungsbeispiel ist die Kontrolle von Seefrachtcontainern. Schon jetzt werden in Häfen viele Frachtcontainer geröntgt, allerdings zweidimensional. Durch die 3D-Röntgentechnik werden auch kleine Objekte im Inneren der Container deutlich sichtbar. Gerade für Sicherheitsbehörden, die Frachtcontainer nach Sprengstoff oder Waffen durchsuchen, aber auch für Zollbehörden, die nach Schmuggelware suchen, liefert die IIS-Technologie einen entscheidenden Mehrwert.

Neben dem Einsatz in der Industrie eröffnet die XXL-Computertomographie viele weitere Anwendungen. So lassen sich historische Objekte wie etwa Musikinstrumente durchleuchten, bei denen ein Aufschneiden und Zerlegen nicht infrage kommt. In einer besonders spektakulären Aktion haben die Fraunhofer-Spezialisten auch einen 65 Millionen Jahre alten Dinosaurierschädel gescannt. Der Schädel des Tyrannosaurus Rex blieb während der Röntgenprozedur in einer Kiste mitsamt dem ihn umgebenden Erdreich, in dem Paläontologen ihn gefunden hatten.

Das Fraunhofer-Forscherteam plant schon den nächsten Schritt: In einer Gantry-CT sollen Linearbeschleuniger und Kamera um das Objekt kreisen. Dieses selbst steht still und muss auch nicht vertikal aufgerichtet werden. Ein Prototyp entsteht derzeit in Zusammenarbeit mit MT Mechatronics.

Für ihre am Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS durchgeführten Arbeiten zum Thema XXL-Computertomographie – Unsichtbares sichtbar machen in einer bisher nicht da gewesenen Dimension, wurden Michael Salamon, Nils Reims und Dr. Michael Böhnel mit dem Joseph-von-Fraunhofer-Preis des Jahres 2018 ausgezeichnet.  

Joseph-von-Fraunhofer-Preis mit 50 000 Euro dotiert

Seit 1978 verleiht die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft alljährlich an ihre Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter den Joseph-von-Fraunhofer-Preis für herausragende wissenschaftliche Leistungen zur Lösung anwendungsnaher Aufgaben. Der Preis ist mit 50 000 Euro dotiert.