FORTE – Facility for Over-the-Air Research and Testing

Außenansicht der FORTE-Testanlage in Ilmenau
© Photo Fraunhofer IIS/Christoph Gorke

FORTE in Ilmenau, Germany, is a testbed for SatCom on the Move systems (FORTE SatCom).

The testbed also serves for testing terrestrial radio systems in a virtual electromagnetic environment (OTAinVEE).

 

FORTE SatCom

Testbed for SatCom on the Move

FORTE

Facility for Over-the-Air Research and Testing

 

FORTE OTAinVEE

Over-the-air testing in a virtual electromagnetic environment

Reference projects

Using passive radar for cooperative perception and situation recognition in mobility and logistics (KoSiMolo)

The fifth-generation public mobile networks of tomorrow, or 5G networks, will play a key role in the digitalization of intelligent transportation systems, mobility and logistics. This project aims to develop pioneering principles for cooperative passive-radar sensor technology, which will then help better protect road users and enhance safety in logistics systems. This takes advantage of the extensive and innovative potential of 5G such as short latency and great flexibility in the allocation of radio resources as well as new data services, such as mobile edge computing. As passive radar does not require any new frequencies, this principle can be seen as a resource-sparing green technology.

Supported by the Free State of Thuringia and the European Social Fund

Virtual electromagnetic environment for testing and developing wireless systems (VEUSys)

This project seeks to expand an existing device infrastructure at the Facility for Over-the-air Research and TEsting (FORTE). The project purpose is testing wireless systems via the air interface in a virtual electromagnetic environment, which should make it possible to emulate any radio applications between just a few Mhz and 6 Ghz under realistic wave-propagation conditions in a reproducible and controlled manner.

With the number and complexity of application scenarios for wireless systems increasing, open-area testing is often cost-intensive and/or not permitted due to regulatory restrictions – such as frequency regulation or very limited opportunities for autonomous driving in test mode. The VEUSys testing system can be used for mobile networks (4G, 5G) and satellite navigation (GPS, Galileo) as well as vehicle-to-vehicle, vehicle-to-infrastructure and industry communication.

Modular signal processing platform for mobile communications and mobile-sensor technology (RadioLab)

The purpose of this project is the purchase and activation of a signal-processing platform for applications related to mobile communications and wireless sensors. The large-scale unit to be purchased must be capable of acquiring and generating HF signals in a variable frequency range up to 20 GHz and with a bandwidth up to 800 MHz. Multiple transmit and receive channels support modern principles of multi-antenna MIMO (multiple input and multiple output). The available FPGA processing power facilitates programmable signal processing in real time.

Designed primarily for applications in channel sounding, MIMO mobile communication, wireless localization, and radar-sensor technology, the unit will make it possible to demonstrate principles of signal processing that will become especially important within the context of the fifth-generation mobile communications standard of tomorrow.

New building in Ilmenau

Neubau Ilmenau
© Photo Beeg Lemke Architekten GmbH

The Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft has been expanding its research facilities at the “Am Vogelherd” industrial park in Ilmenau since summer 2016.

The Fraunhofer IIS Wireless Distribution Systems (DVT) Department and the Advanced System Technology (AST) Branch of Fraunhofer IOSB are erecting a joint research facility on the premises. The building, with its open design, will be discreetly integrated into the local surroundings and will serve to attract residents, business guests, tourists and public officials to this part of the city.

The new building will intensify cooperation between the two research institutes, permit joint developments that will open up new markets and make it possible to create a research network with unique services.

The four-story facility, which boasts 3,400-square-meters of office, laboratory and training space, will be home to 212 employees. The 18,000-square-meter property offers room for future expansion. Construction costs are estimated at €25 million, of which 40 percent (€10 million) stems from the EFRE (European Regional Development Fund), 30 percent (€7.5 million) from the government of Thuringia and 30 percent (€7.5 million) from the federal government's basic fund for research institutes.

FORTE – Facility for Over-the-Air Research and Testing

Außenansicht der FORTE-Testanlage in Ilmenau
© Foto Fraunhofer IIS/Christoph Gorke

Die FORTE-Einrichtung am Standort Ilmenau ist eine Testanlage für mobile Satellitenkommunikationssysteme (FORTE SatCom).

Darüber hinaus dient die Anlage für Tests von Antennenfunksystemen in virtueller elektromagnetischer Umgebung (FORTE OTAinVEE).

 

FORTE SatCom

Testanlage für die mobile Satellitenkommunikation

FORTE - Facility for Over-the-Air Research and Testing

 

FORTE OTAinVEE

Over-the-Air-Tests in virtueller elektromagnetsicher Umgebung

Referenzprojekte

Kooperative Wahrnehmung und Situationserkennung in Mobilität und Logistik mittels Passiv-Radar (KoSiMolo)

Die öffentlichen Mobilfunknetze der zukünftigen 5. Generation (5G) werden für die Digitalisierung in intelligenten Verkehrssystemen, Mobilität und Logistik eine Schlüsselrolle spielen. Dieses Projekt hat neuartige Prinzipien für die kooperative Passiv-Radar-Sensorik zum Ziel, die einen verbesserten Schutz für Verkehrsteilnehmer und mehr Sicherheit in Logistiksystemen erlauben. Dabei werden die weitreichenden und innovativen Möglichkeiten von 5G ausgenutzt, wie kurze Latenzzeiten, eine große Flexibilität bei der Zuweisung von Funkressourcen sowie neue Datendienste, wie Mobile Edge Computing. Da Passiv-Radar keine neuen Frequenzen benötigt, kann dieses Prinzip als ressourcenschonende grüne Technologie angesehen werden.

Gefördert durch den Freistaat Thüringen aus Mitteln des Europäischen Sozialfonds

Virtuelle Elektromagnetische Umgebung für die Erprobung und Entwicklung von Funksystemen (VEUSys)

Ziel des Vorhabens ist die Erweiterung einer bereits bestehenden Geräteinfrastruktur in der Fraunhofer-Versuchsanlage FORTE (Facility for Over the air Research and TEsting) für den Test von Funksystemen über die Luftschnittstelle in einer virtuellen elektromagnetischen Umgebung. Diese Umgebung soll es ermöglichen, beliebige Funkanwendungen im Bereich von wenigen MHz bis 6 GHz unter realistischen Wellenausbreitungsbedingungen wiederholbar und unter kontrollierten Bedingungen zu emulieren.

Aufgrund der Zunahme der Komplexität und der Vielzahl der Anwendungsszenarien von Funksystemen sind Freifeldtests oftmals zu kostenintensiv und/oder aufgrund von regulatorischen Einschränkungen nicht zulässig (z. B. Frequenzregulierung, nur sehr begrenzt mögliches autonomes Fahren im Testbetrieb). Das Testsystem findet Anwendungen in den Bereichen des Mobilfunks (4G, 5G), der Satellitennavigation (GPS, Gallileo), der Fahrzeug-zu-Fahrzeug-, der Fahrzeug-zu-Infrastruktur- sowie der Industriekommunikation.

Modulare Signalverarbeitungsplattform für Mobilkommunikation und Funksensorik (RadioLab)

Ziel des Vorhabens ist die Anschaffung und Inbetriebnahme einer Signalverarbeitungsplattform für Anwendungen in der Mobilkommunikation und Funksensorik. Das anzuschaffende Großgerät soll in einem variablen Frequenzbereich bis 20 GHz und mit einer Bandbreite von bis zu 800 MHz HF-Signale erfassen und erzeugen können. Die sender- und empfängerseitige Mehrkanaligkeit unterstützt moderne Mehrantennen-MIMO-Prinzipien (MIMO: Multiple-Input-Multiple-Output). Die enthaltene FPGA-Rechenleistung erlaubt eine programmierbare Echtzeitsignalverarbeitung.

Das Gerät ist besonders für Anwendungen auf den Gebieten der Funkkanalmessungen (Channel Sounding), MIMO-Funkkommunikation sowie Funklokalisierung und Radarsensorik ausgelegt. Damit wird die Demonstration von Signalverarbeitungsprinzipien ermöglicht, die vor allem im Kontext des zukünftigen Mobilfunkstandards der 5. Generation interessant werden.

Neubau am Standort Ilmenau

Neubau Ilmenau
© Foto Beeg Lemke Architekten GmbH

Die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft baut seit dem Sommer 2016 ihren Forschungsstandort Ilmenau im Gewerbegebiet »Am Vogelherd« aus.

Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Optronik, Systemtechnik und Bildauswertung IOSB, Institutsteil Angewandte Systemtechnik AST und das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS, Abteilung Drahtlose Verteilsysteme DVT errichten ein gemeinsames Institutsgebäude. Entstehen wird ein offen gestaltetes Gebäude, das sich unaufdringlich in die Umgebung einfügt und das Stadtgebiet gegenüber Anwohnern und Gästen aus Wirtschaft, Tourismus und Politik einladend präsentiert.

Der Neubau wird die Zusammenarbeit beider Forschungseinrichtungen intensivieren und gemeinsame Entwicklungen, welche neue Märkte erschließen und im Verbund besondere Alleinstellungsmerkmale ermöglichen, zulassen.

Auf vier Ebenen entstehen insgesamt 3400 Quadratmeter Büro-, Labor-und Schulungsräume, in denen bis zu 212 Mitarbeiter Platz finden. Das Grundstück von insgesamt 18 000 Quadratmetern ermöglicht zudem, das Gebäude bei Bedarf zu erweitern. Die geschätzten Baukosten liegen bei 25 Mio €, von denen 40% (10 Mio €) aus dem Europäischen Fonds für Regionale Entwicklung EFRE 2014 –2020, 30% (7,5 Mio €) vom Freistaat Thüringen aus dem Operationellen Programm »Investitionen in Wachstum und Beschäftigung Thüringen« sowie 30% (7,5 Mio €) aus der Grundfinanzierung des Bundes gedeckt werden.