Cheerful happy bearded man looking at his smartphone, listening to the music with earpods outdoors.

IVAS

About IVAS

Immersive Voice and Audio Services (IVAS) is the new EVS-based communication codec currently being standardized by the 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP). It enables a lifelike spatial acoustic experience, for example in conference calls and video conferences. As a conversational stereo and immersive codec, it can process signals captured by various microphone configurations in different conversational scenarios. Just like EVS, IVAS is a mobile communication codec and can therefore operate at bitrates as low as 13.2 or 24.4 kbit/s and with a very low latency.

Developing a lifelike communication experience

© Syda Productions - stock.adobe.com

As immersive VR experiences become more common, the communications sector faces the demand for an equally lifelike experience. This holds true not only for the private market but also for business environments. Traditional voice services are typically limited to monaural audio transmission and reproduction. This makes it hard to distinguish multiple speakers, causes discrepancies in speaker localization when combined with video, and often results in listener fatigue. Immersive audio technology like IVAS makes it easier to follow conversations with multiple participants during video calls and other virtual conferences and to distinguish between meaningful sounds and background.

A 3GPP study on the influence of Virtual Reality (VR) on 3GPP services showed that communications applications would be expected to become more lifelike. This resulted in the work item of developing a codec for immersive communications. In answer to this, Fraunhofer IIS is currently participating in the development of IVAS.

Multidimensional communication with IVAS

IVAS will enable realistic conferencing and drive the most recent developments in communication. To make it a viable choice for most settings, it supports stereo encoding and rendering, the minimum requirement for spatial conferencing and VR.

But it does not stop there: IVAS will support the coding and rendering of truly immersive formats such as audio objects, Ambisonics, and multi-channel audio. It is meant to work with the microphones usually employed for communication, for example in 5G mobile devices like a phone or tablet, as well as with various static microphone setups or arrays. In combination with its integrated flexible rendering capabilities, IVAS will be able to play back this content on various speaker configurations – be it on computers, cars, living-rooms, or by means of binaural rendering via headphones for mobile use.

© Sennheiser/Max Threlfall

Cheerful happy bearded man looking at his smartphone, listening to the music with earpods outdoors.

IVAS

Über IVAS

Immersive Voice and Audio Services (IVAS) ist der neue EVS-basierte Kommunikationscodec, der derzeit vom 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) standardisiert wird. Die neue Technologie ermöglicht ein lebensechtes räumliches Klangerlebnis, zum Beispiel in Telefon- oder Videokonferenzen. Der Codec unterstützt sowohl Stereo- als auch räumliche Audioaufnahmen und kann Signale verarbeiten, die von verschiedenen Mikrofonkonfigurationen in unterschiedlichen Gesprächsszenarien aufgenommen werden. Genau wie EVS ist IVAS ein Codec für die mobile Kommunikation und kann daher mit Bitraten von nur 13,2 oder 24,4 kbit/s und einer sehr geringen Latenz arbeiten.

Entwicklung eines realitätsnahen Kommunikationserlebnisses

© Syda Productions - stock.adobe.com

Mit der zunehmenden Verbreitung von immersiven VR-Erlebnissen steht auch der Kommunikationssektor vor der Herausforderung, ein lebensechtes Gesprächserlebnis zu schaffen. Dies gilt nicht nur für den privaten Gebrauch, sondern auch für Anwendungen im Geschäftsalltag. Herkömmliche Sprachdienste sind in der Regel auf monoaurale Audioübertragung und -wiedergabe beschränkt. Dies erschwert die Unterscheidung mehrerer Sprecher, verursacht Diskrepanzen bei der Sprecherlokalisierung vor allem in Verbindung mit Video und führt damit oft zu Ermüdungserscheinungen beim Zuhören. Immersive, einhüllende Audiotechnologie wie IVAS macht es einfacher, Gesprächen mit mehreren Teilnehmern während Videotelefonaten und anderen virtuellen Konferenzen zu folgen und zwischen Inhalten und Hintergrundgeräuschen zu unterscheiden.

Wie eine 3GPP-Studie über den Einfluss von Virtual Reality (VR) auf 3GPP-Dienste belegen konnte, werden Kommunikationsanwendungen dank immersiver Technologie lebensechter. An dem daraus resultierenden Auftrag, mit IVAS einen Codec für immersive Kommunikation zu entwickeln, ist auch das Fraunhofer IIS maßgeblich beteiligt.

Multidimensionale Kommunikation mit IVAS

IVAS wird realistische Videokonferenzen ermöglichen und die neuesten Entwicklungen im Kommunikationsbereich vorantreiben. Um es für die meisten Umgebungen nutzbar zu machen, unterstützt es Stereocodierung und -rendering, die Mindestanforderung für räumliche Konferenzen und VR.

Darüber hinaus wird IVAS die Codierung und das Rendering von wirklich immersiven Formaten wie Audioobjekten, Ambisonics und Mehrkanal-Audio unterstützen. Dabei unterstützt es nicht nur die üblicherweise in Endgeräten gebräuchlichen Mikrofone, zum Beispiel in 5G-Mobilgeräten wie einem Smartphone oder Tablet, sondern auch verschiedene statische Mikrofonaufbauten oder Mikrofonarrays. In Kombination mit seinen integrierten flexiblen Rendering-Möglichkeiten wird man mit IVAS in der Lage sein, diese Inhalte auf verschiedenen Lautsprecherkonfigurationen wiederzugeben - sei es auf Computern, im Auto, im Wohnzimmer oder mittels binauralem Rendering über Kopfhörer für den mobilen Einsatz.

© Sennheiser/Max Threlfall