Camera Technology

 

POLKA

POLKA is a special camera that recognizes and measures polarization, a property of light imperceptible to the human eye. This camera features a low-maintenance, robust design and special low-cost sensors, making it the right choice for industrial applications. The hardware and software can be modified and expanded to meet the needs of specific customer applications.

 

Flight Test Camera

Together with SEKAI Europe, Fraunhofer IIS is currently planning to develop a prototype of a modular camera system. Potential application areas:

  • Flight testing
  • Aviation
  • Machine and equipment testing
 

EagleCam

EagleCam is a customer-specific application for the INCA camera platform. This application was adapted to the anatomy and flight behavior of a predatory bird for the film "Wie Brüder im Wind" released in 2016, January. The lightweight ergonomic design, combined with a wide range of sophisticated technology, makes it possible to produce totally new perspectives and never-before-seen images.

 

HIGGS

HIGGS makes it possible to quickly and easily publish new and exciting live video material through the use of up to five intelligent cameras controlled by a user-friendly app.

 

INCA - Intelligent Camera

INCA makes it possible to create full HD recordings with one of the world's smallest cameras. The flexible system design combines professional image sensors with the newest generation of mobile processors, providing a new level of image quality and computing power. Customer-specific requirements are quickly and easily implemented, thus offering flexibility for the most compact designs.

Camera Array

The use of camera arrays for movie and television production opens up vast creative opportunities. The latest innovation from Fraunhofer IIS, which consists of a 4X4 miniature camera array,  allows production teams to film scenes using different exposure settings and then calculate various effects such as refocusing, depth map estimation and virtual camera panning from a single take. For these projects, Fraunhofer IIS researchers utilize both in-house developed and commercially-available cameras.

Kameratechnik

 

POLKA

Die Polarisationskamera erkennt und misst mit der Polarisation eine für den Menschen unsichtbare Qualität des Lichts. Durch ihr wartungsarmes, robustes Design und die preisgünstige Fertigung ihres Spezialsensors ist POLKA wie geschaffen für den Einsatz in der Produktion. Für konkrete Anwendungsfälle können Hard- und Software nach Kundenwunsch modifiziert und erweitert werden.

 

Flight-Test Kamera

Ein modulares Kamerasystem für Anwendungen im Bereich der Flugerprobung, Luftfahrt und Erprobung von Maschinen und industriellen Anlagen.  

 

EagleCam

Bei der Eaglecam handelt es sich um eine kundenspezifische Applikation der Kameraplattform INCA. Für den Naturspielfilm "The Way of the Eagle" (Start 2015) wurde diese speziell an die Anatomie und an das Flugverhalten eines Raubvogels angepasst. Ihr leichtes, ergonomisches Design, verbunden mit allen technischen Raffinessen ermöglichte es, vollkommen neuartige Perspektiven und nie gesehene Bilder zu generieren.

 

HIGGS

Mit HIGGS ist es möglich, neues, aufregendes Videomaterial schnell und einfach live zu veröffentlichen. Möglich wird das durch den mobilen Einsatz von bis zu fünf intelligenten miniaturisierten Kameras, die über eine benutzerfreundliche App gesteuert werden.

 

INCA

INCA macht Full-HD Aufnahmen mit einer der kleinsten heute verfügbaren Kameras möglich. Das flexible Systemdesign kombiniert professionelle Bildsensoren mit mobilen Prozessoren der neuesten Generation - damit werden Bildqualität und Rechenleistung auf ein neues Level getragen. Kundenspezifische Anforderungen können einfach und schnell implementiert werden - so bietet INCA Flexibilität auf kleinstem Bauraum.

Kamera-Array

Film- und TV-Produktion mit mehreren Kameras in verschiedenen Anordnungen bietet für die Kameraleute ein Vielfaches an kreativen Möglichkeiten. Mit dem aktuellen Kamera-Array des Fraunhofer IIS, das aus einer Anordnung von 4 x 4 Kleinstkameras besteht, können Teile des Lichtfelds einer Szene aufgenommen werden und so verschiedenste Effekte wie z. B. Refokussierung, Tiefenkartenschätzung, virtuelle Kamerafahrten aus einer Aufnahme errechnet werden. Die Fraunhofer-Wissenschaftler verwenden dabei eigene Kameraentwicklungen sowie bereits auf dem Markt erhältliche Kameras.