Automated microscope scanner is an all-around talent

/ 28.4.2016

Erlangen/Munich, April 28, 2016 – Analytica, Hall A1, Booth 526: The SCube® is a fully automatic microscopic scanning system developed by the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS. Highlights of the system include its suitability for a wide range of analyses, support for both transmitted-light and fluorescence microscopy, attractive pricing and compact size. Because it features a modular design, it can be custom configured to meet individual user needs. Researchers are presenting the scanner at the Analytica trade fair from May 10-13, 2016 in Munich.

The SCube® microscopy platform
© Fraunhofer IIS/Kurt Fuchs

The SCube® microscopy platform is a modular solution for digital pathology.

In hospitals, large numbers of samples are always being sent to the lab or pathology department for further analysis. These include blood, bone marrow and tissue samples that must all be analyzed at the microscopic level. In small laboratories, this is frequently accomplished using manual methods. While there are some automated microscopy systems currently in use, either these are designed for conducting specialized analyses, which means they cannot be employed universally in all situations, or they are intended for high-volume applications, and their high purchase price makes them all but unaffordable for small and medium-sized laboratories.

 

An ideal automated solution for smaller laboratories


The SCube® microscopic scanning system bridges this gap. It was developed at Fraunhofer IIS as part of the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research’s LoCAMSSA project, which is now coming to conclusion. The system is unique in that it is an all-rounder offering both high-resolution transmitted light microscopy with immersion oil as well as fluorescence microscopy within a single device. “With our scanning system, users can automatically scan and analyze materials such as blood, bone marrow, and tissue,” says Fraunhofer IIS group manager Dr. Christian Münzenmayer. Furthermore, the system is affordably priced, and at approximately 40 cm in length it is also very compact. Thanks to its modular construction, it can be precisely tailored to the specific needs of individual laboratories. In short, it is an ideal automated solution for small and medium-sized laboratories.

An elegant white casing conceals the sophisticated technology contained within in a user friendly manner. There is an opening through which to insert special cartridges, each containing up to ten slides with samples, into the system. A gripping arm inside the system takes one slide at a time and places it into the beam path between the condenser and the lens. The system now begins the microscopic analysis: it takes single still images of the slide using an integrated camera, places the slide back into the cartridge, and begins the process again with the next slide. Users can specify the analysis to be performed for each sample via software input. Researchers are currently designing a cartridge loading system that can insert up to 20 cartridges into the system automatically, thus allowing for overnight operation.

 

A variety of modules provides flexibility


Because the system is modular, users and laboratory equipment manufacturers can adapt it to their specific applications. “Aside from the cartridge loading system, one example of this is a module containing several lenses that can be changed as needed,” explains Fraunhofer IIS project manager Dr. Malte Avenhaus. Another module makes it possible to measure fluorescence as well. Here, the sample is stimulated from above using the lens and the fluorescent light emitted by the sample is observed. An additional unique feature is the automatic application of immersion oil. When this oil is applied to the slide containing the sample, the resolution increases – making it possible to discern even more minute details. Currently there are just a few devices that can do this automatically, but such devices are suitable only for highly specialized applications. A web-based platform featuring a viewer allows users to examine the resulting images of individual samples. This starts out as a rough top-down overview and can be zoomed in if a suspicious spot is found in order to see the blood or tissue cells in greater detail.

The prototype of the microscopic scanning system is already complete. Researchers will be presenting this along with other image analysis technologies at the Analytica trade fair from May 10-13, 2016 in Munich (Hall A1, Booth 526). Interested companies can utilize their own image processing methods with the system, or they may also avail themselves of the research and development services provided by Fraunhofer IIS.

Automatisierter Mikroskop-Scanner – ein Allround- Talent

/ 28.4.2016

Erlangen/München, 28. April 2016 – Analytica, Halle A1, Stand 526: Mit dem SCube® haben Forscher am Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS ein vollautomatisches mikroskopisches Scanning-System entwickelt. Die Vorteile: Das System eignet sich für verschiedenste Untersuchungen, vereint Durchlicht- und Fluoreszenzmikroskopie, ist preisgünstig und kompakt. Da es modular aufgebaut ist, kann es speziell auf die Bedürfnisse von Anwendern zugeschnitten werden. Auf der Messe Analytica vom 10. bis 13. Mai 2016 in München stellen die Forscher den Scanner vor.

Computertomographie-Aufnahme eines Aluminium-Gussbauteils
© Fraunhofer IIS
Die Computertomographie-Aufnahme eines Aluminium-Gussbauteils offenbart selbst winzige Defekte.

In einem Krankenhaus fallen zahlreiche Proben zur weiteren Untersuchung im Labor oder der pathologischen Abteilung an: Blutproben, Proben von Knochenmark oder Gewebe müssen mikroskopisch untersucht werden. In kleineren Laboren geschieht dies vielfach per Hand. Zwar gibt es bereits automatisierte Mikroskopiesysteme. Allerdings sind diese entweder auf spezielle Untersuchungen ausgelegt und somit nicht für alle Fragestellungen universell einsetzbar. Oder aber sie sind auf einen hohen Durchsatz ausgelegt und mit ihren hohen Anschaffungskosten für kleinere und mittlere Labore kaum erschwinglich.

 

Optimale Automatisierungslösung für kleinere Labore


Das mikroskopische Scanning-System SCube® füllt diese Lücke. Entwickelt wurde es am Fraunhofer IIS im Rahmen des BMBF-Projekts LoCAMSSA, das nun am Projektabschluss steht. Das Besondere: Das System ist ein Allrounder, der sowohl die hochauflösende Durchlicht-Mikroskopie mit Immersionsöl als auch die Fluoreszenz-Mikroskopie in sich vereint. »Mit unserem Scanning-System können Nutzer beispielsweise Blut, Knochenmark oder Gewebe automatisch scannen und untersuchen«, sagt Dr. Christian Münzenmayer, Gruppenleiter am Fraunhofer IIS. Zudem ist das System preisgünstig und mit einer Seitenlänge von etwa 40 Zentimetern sehr kompakt. Da es modular aufgebaut ist, lässt es sich passgenau auf die Bedürfnisse der einzelnen Labore zuschneiden. Kurzum: Eine optimale Automatisierungslösung für kleine und mittelgroße Labore.

Ein elegantes, weißes Gehäuse verbirgt die komplexe Technik anwenderfreundlich vor dem Nutzer. Durch eine Öffnung lassen sich spezielle Kassetten in das System einbringen, die jeweils bis zu zehn Objektträger mit Proben enthalten. Ein Greifarm im Inneren des Systems entnimmt jeweils einen Objektträger und befördert diesen in den Strahlengang zwischen Kondensor und Objektiv. Nun startet das System die mikroskopische Untersuchung, nimmt die einzelnen Bilder über eine integrierte Kamera auf, schiebt den Objektträger anschließend wieder in die Kassette und startet den Vorgang erneut mit dem nächsten Objektträger. Welche Untersuchungen das System für welche Probe durchführen soll, kann der Nutzer über eine entsprechende Software vorgeben. Über ein Kassetten-Ladesystem, den die Wissenschaftler momentan entwickeln, können bis zu 20 Kassetten automatisch in das System eingebracht werden – so kann der Scanner auch über Nacht durchlaufen.

 

Verschiedene Module sorgen für Flexibilität


Da das System modular aufgebaut ist, können Anwender und Laborgerätehersteller es an ihre Anwendungen anpassen. »Ein Beispiel für ein solches Modul ist neben dem Kassettenladesystem ein Modul, das verschiedene Objektive beinhaltet und diese automatisch je nach Bedarf wechselt«, erläutert Dr. Malte Avenhaus, Projektleiter am Fraunhofer IIS. Ein anderes Modul ermöglicht es, auch die Fluoreszenz zu messen. Dabei regt man die Probe von oben durch das Objektiv an und beobachtet das Fluoreszenzlicht, das von der Probe abgestrahlt wird. Eine weitere Besonderheit liegt in der automatischen Applikation von Immersionsöl. Tropft man dieses Öl auf den Objektträger mit der Probe, steigt die Auflösung – es lassen sich noch feinere Details erkennen. Bislang gibt es nur wenige Geräte, die dies automatisiert können. Diese sind jedoch nur für ganz spezielle Anwendungen geeignet. Eine webbasierte Plattform mit einem sog. Viewer erlaubt es dem Anwender, sich die Bildergebnisse der einzelnen Proben zunächst als grobe Aufsicht anzusehen. Hat man etwas Auffälliges gefunden, kann man hineinzoomen und sich die Blut- oder Gewebezellen genauer anschauen.

Der Prototyp des mikroskopischen Scanning-Systems ist bereits fertig. Auf der Messe Analytica vom 10. bis 13. Mai 2016 in München stellen die Forscher ihn vor, ebenso passende Technologien für die Bildanalyse (Halle A1, Stand 526). Interessierte Firmen können sowohl ihre eigene Bildverarbeitung für das System nutzen oder aber auf die Forschungs- und Entwicklungsdienstleistung des Fraunhofer IIS zurückgreifen.