Research project "KI-FLEX": how new AI-based electronic solutions can make autonomous driving safer

3.12.2019

Erlangen: Fully automated and autonomous vehicles should be able to respond appropriately in every situation. Together with partners in the "KI-FLEX" project, the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS is developing a platform that uses artificial intelligence methods to help measure vehicle position and determine vehicle environment in the future.

As part of the “KI-FLEX” project, funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), Fraunhofer IIS is leading the development of a software programmable and reconfigurable hardware platform that processes sensor data with AI-based methods for autonomous driving. The project is a key step in the development of technology components that are urgently required to make autonomous driving safe and reliable.

Autonomous driving is dependent on the fast and reliable processing and merging of data from laser, camera and radar sensors in cars. As a result, the vehicle always has an accurate picture of the actual traffic conditions, can locate its own position in this environment, and, on the basis of this information, make the right decision in every driving situation. The data that the vehicle must process to determine its environment is so complex that artificial intelligence methods are required to ensure a high level of safety on the roads.

To this end, Fraunhofer IIS and partners are working on the “KI-FLEX” project to develop a powerful hardware platform and the associated software framework. The algorithms used for sensor signal processing and sensor data fusion are largely based on neural networks and enable the vehicle’s exact position and environment to be determined.

 

Reconfigurable, secure and efficient

 

The relevance and usability of individual sensors varies depending on the traffic situation and on the weather and light conditions. To account for this, the platform is being designed as software programmable and reconfigurable hardware, which means that the algorithms used for sensor evaluation can be switched in line with changing driving conditions. This enables the vehicle to respond flexibly if individual sensors are compromised or if they fail. In addition, the project team will develop suitable methods and tools for ensuring the functional safety of the AI algorithms used and their interactions, even if the algorithms are reconfigured while the vehicle is on the road. To enable all algorithms and reconfigurations to be executed efficiently, the hardware platform’s computing resources are allocated dynamically according to load.

 

Future-proof, neuromorphic technology component

 

The planned platform is a new development in the field of neuromorphic hardware, the functionality of which is inspired by the human brain and specially designed and optimized for the efficient use of neural networks. A key consideration in the project is that while product cycles in the automotive sector are very long, AI algorithms are advancing very rapidly. The project partners are therefore working towards a hardware platform that can be quickly and easily adapted to new software and hardware requirements in the field of machine learning. To achieve this, they are focusing on using a flexibly programmable multi-core deep learning accelerator in the form of a specially developed chip (ASIC). Such ASICs help reduce costs and power consumption compared to conventional multi-purpose processors (CPUs) or graphics processing units (GPUs). On that basis, the project is playing an important role in driving forward both science and the automotive industry in the field of autonomous driving.

 

Project consortium comprising research and industry partners

 

The joint “KI-FLEX” project, which runs through August 2022, is funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) within the framework of the guidelines on promoting research initiatives in the field of “AI-based electronic solutions for safe autonomous driving (AI element: autonomous driving).”

Fraunhofer IIS is leading the project consortium, which comprises the following research and industry partners: Ibeo Automotive Systems GmbH, Infineon Technologies AG, videantis GmbH, Technical University of Munich (Chair of Robotics, Artificial Intelligence and Real-time Systems), Fraunhofer Institute for Open Communication Systems FOKUS, Daimler Center for Automotive IT Innovations (DCAITI, Technical University of Berlin) and FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg (Chair of Computer Science 3: Computer Architecture).

Projekt »KI-FLEX«: Wie neue KI-Elektronik autonomes Fahren sicherer machen kann

3.12.2019

Erlangen: Vollautomatisierte und autonome Fahrzeuge sollten in jeder Situation angemessen reagieren können. Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS entwickelt zusammen mit Partnern im Projekt »KI-FLEX« eine Plattform, die durch Methoden der Künstlichen Intelligenz hilft, Fahrzeugposition und Umfeld zukünftig exakt zu erfassen.

Im Rahmen des vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) geförderten Projekts »KI-FLEX« leitet das Fraunhofer IIS die Entwicklung einer software-programmierbaren und rekonfigurierbaren Hardware-Plattform zur KI-basierten Sensordatenverarbeitung für das autonome Fahren. Das Projekt leistet einen essentiellen Beitrag zur Entwicklung dringend benötigter Technologiekomponenten, die autonomes Fahren sicher und zuverlässig machen.

Beim autonomen Fahren müssen Daten von Laser-, Kamera- und Radarsensoren im Auto zuverlässig und schnell verarbeitet und zusammengeführt werden. Dadurch verfügt das Fahrzeug jederzeit über ein präzises Abbild der realen Verkehrsbedingungen, kann sich selbst in diesem Umfeld verorten und auf Basis dieser Informationen in jeder Fahrsituation die richtige Entscheidung treffen. Die zu verarbeitenden Daten für die Umfelderfassung sind dabei so komplex, dass Methoden der Künstlichen Intelligenz benötigt werden, um eine hohe Verkehrssicherheit zu gewährleisten.

Dafür entwickelt das Fraunhofer IIS zusammen mit Partnern im Projekt »KI-FLEX« eine leistungsstarke Hardware-Plattform und das dazugehörige Software-Framework. Die für die Sensorsignalverarbeitung und Sensordatenfusion eingesetzten Algorithmen basieren größtenteils auf Neuronalen Netzen und erlauben es, die Fahrzeugposition und das Umfeld exakt zu erfassen.

 

Rekonfigurierbar, sicher und effizient

 

Die Bedeutung und Nutzbarkeit einzelner Sensoren variiert je nach Verkehrssituation, Wetter- und Lichtbedingungen. Um dem gerecht zu werden, wird die Plattform als software-programmierbare und rekonfigurierbare Hardware entworfen. Das heißt, die zur Sensorauswertung verwendeten Algorithmen können bei veränderten Bedingungen während der Fahrt ausgetauscht werden. So kann das Auto auf Beeinträchtigungen oder gar den Ausfall einzelner Sensoren flexibel reagieren. Darüber hinaus wird das Projektteam geeignete Methoden und Werkzeuge entwickeln, um die funktionale Sicherheit der verwendeten KI-Algorithmen und ihr Zusammenspiel auch bei einer Rekonfiguration während der Fahrt sicherzustellen. Zur effizienten Ausführung aller Algorithmen und Rekonfigurationen werden die Rechenressourcen der Hardware-Plattform je nach Auslastung dynamisch eingeteilt.

 

Zukunftsfähige, neuromorphe Technologie-Komponente

 

Bei der geplanten Plattform handelt es sich um eine neue Entwicklung auf dem Gebiet der neuromorphen Hardware. Ihre Funktionsweise ist vom menschlichen Gehirn inspiriert und speziell für die effiziente Nutzung Neuronaler Netze konzipiert und optimiert. Dabei wird insbesondere berücksichtigt, dass einerseits die Produktzyklen im Automobilbereich sehr lang sind, sich aber andererseits die KI-Algorithmen rasant weiterentwickeln. Das Projekt strebt deshalb eine Hardware-Plattform an, die einfach und schnell an neue Software- und Hardwareanforderungen im Bereich des maschinellen Lernens angepasst werden kann. Dies soll insbesondere durch einen flexibel programmierbaren Multi-Core-Deep-Learning-Beschleuniger in Form eines eigens entwickelten Chips (ASIC) erreicht werden. Mit dem Einsatz von ASICs sinken Kosten und Leistungsaufnahme im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen Mehrzweckprozessoren (CPUs) oder Grafikprozessoren (GPUs). Insofern liefert das Projekt starke Impulse für Wissenschaft und Automobilwirtschaft im Bereich des autonomen Fahrens.

 

Projektkonsortium aus Forschungs- und Industriepartnern

 

Das bis August 2022 laufende Verbundprojekt »KI-FLEX« wird vom deutschen Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) im Rahmen der Richtlinie zur Förderung von Forschungsinitiativen auf dem Gebiet der »KI-basierten Elektroniklösungen für sicheres autonomes Fahren (KI-Element: autonomes Fahren)« gefördert.

Das Fraunhofer IIS übernimmt die Leitung des Projektkonsortiums, zu dem die Forschungs- und Industriepartner Ibeo Automotive Systems GmbH, Infineon Technologies AG, videantis GmbH, TU München (Lehrstuhl für Robotik, Künstliche Intelligenz und Echtzeitsysteme), Fraunhofer-Institut für Offene Kommunikationssysteme FOKUS, Daimler Center for Automotive IT Innovations (DCAITI, TU Berlin) sowie die FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg (Lehrstuhl für Informatik 3: Rechnerarchitektur) gehören.