Sports Analytics

Sports Analytics

At a glance

In interdisciplinary teams made up of sports scientists, engineers and data scientists, Fraunhofer IIS carries out research and development projects on ways of combining sport and technology. The primary focus is on the swift detection of situation-relevant events and the preparation of this information for the user. This is made possible by the use of intelligent algorithmics that filter events out of the positioning data, prompting a quick response with suitable measures.
We decided to pool expertise in this area because of our many years of experience in the processing of sensor data in sports and the use of state-of-the-art technologies.

AI and Machine Learning

The terms “artificial intelligence” and “machine learning” are everywhere these days. Fraunhofer IIS uses these technical innovations to add value. The basic idea behind these methods involves a computer generating relevant analyses out of existing data. Thanks to the input of humans (chiefly sports scientists in this case) and to highly advanced training methods for learning algorithms, even complex performance indicators can be realized.
To be able to use the latest research results from this field, Fraunhofer IIS collaborates closely with the Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU).

Official match data in pro soccer

In the first and second divisions of Germany’s professional soccer league, video-based tracking systems are currently being used to capture the ball and players by means of machine vision (tracking rate: 25 Hz). In addition, events such as passes, tackles and shots on goal are captured manually by commercial match data providers.
Fraunhofer IIS processes this data into player- and team-related performance indicators in order to enable high-quality analyses. Examples of this include metrics on passing networks and the continuous evaluation of the compactness of a team.

Tracking systems, inertial measurement units and video integration

Both when developing its own localization systems for sportspeople (tracking rate of up to 3000 Hz) and when integrating and analyzing commercial systems, Fraunhofer IIS is able to draw on over 10 years of experience. By combining the technology with inertial measurement units (IMUs), existing tracking systems can become even more precise or supply even more added value through orientation data. The combination of video and tracking data also delivers new insights into large swaths of sporting activity. For example, the entertainment offered to viewers can reach a new level by displaying live information on the TV screen.

 

Sports science

As a technology-oriented research institute, our success is also based on the way we incorporate the classical sciences in order to use well-founded knowledge in projects. Accordingly, alongside engineers and computer scientists, our sports scientists are a fixture in sports-related projects, where they play a decisive role.

 

Process mining

A relatively new area of research, process mining is concerned with the analysis of processes. In the context of sports, these methods (process discovery, conformance checking, process enhancement) can be used to analyze and interactively design training exercises and even generate tactical models of whole matches. In terms of practical applications, this field of research came to prominence through automatic analyses of medical procedures, which means that established methods already exist.

 

ESI-Fitness

New methods of machine learning and artificial intelligence, combined with precise real-time tracking, allow a new depth of game and training analysis.

 

LZE-Project

Automated analysis methods in sports provide technically, tactically or physiologically important parameters for added value in sport applications.

 

RedFIR

Automated action recognition in combination with machine learning and hierarchical event recognition allows the automatic generation of game statistics.

 

Boxing

Training analysis value with additional information.

Sensors in soccer

Real-time analysis of soccer players' performance and the course of play using cost-effectiv sensors and machine learning to detect speeds, actions and events for trainers and players.

 

We offer...

Evaluation and advice for sports tracking systems

In the world of sports, users have a broad range of tracking systems at their disposal. Depending on the intended use, the various technologies differ with respect to quality and suitability. To be able to evaluate their quality in detail, our experts have focused on carrying out comprehensive system evaluations with a high degree of automation and standardization. We have the capability to test both indoor and outdoor systems and calculate sports-relevant evaluation parameters (e.g. running distances), whereby the precision of the available reference systems extend down into the submillimeter range. In addition, there is the option not only of evaluating the characteristic values of movements themselves, but also of their effects at the physiological level, such as heart rate and breathing rate, which are often recorded in parallel with the movements.

 

Development of algorithms and performance of studies for technologies in sports

Do you need R&D support to develop your algorithms for sporting analyses? Then Fraunhofer IIS is exactly the right place for you. We offer a unique testing environment (L.I.N.K. test hall) for professional tests and comprehensive studies. Fraunhofer develops and tests algorithms for applications such as orientation estimation, training load monitoring, the recording of KPIs (key performance indicators), pulse and HRV measurements and even interactive training exercises and technical/tactical analyses in team ball sports. Our portfolio is aimed at the manufacturers of sports tracking systems (radio-based, GPS, video), of combined systems including vital parameters and particularly the manufacturers of wearables.

 

Analysis of official match data

Match analysis is a fixed component of performance diagnostics for a wide variety of professional sports. It is used to evaluate match situations in order to record the strengths and weaknesses of sportspeople. In this field, the whole business of finding and analyzing suitable episodes in a convenient way not only involves a lot of work, but is also bound up with subjective influences. Based on official match data, Fraunhofer IIS makes it possible to evaluate episodes objectively using performance parameters that have been defined by the customer. In addition, the characteristic attributes of these variables can be visualized in customized ways and the corresponding videos edited automatically. With our 10-plus years of experience in the processing of tracking data and our expertise in the fusion of tracking and video data, we are available to customers both for long-term collaborations in the form of a development partnership and also for product-oriented solutions. Our individual offers are aimed particularly at sports clubs, associations, league and media representatives and the manufacturers of league-wide tracking systems.

 

Publications

Löffler, C.; Mutschler, C.; Philippsen, M.: Approximative Event Processing on Sensor Data Streams (Best Poster and Demostration Award). In ACM (Hrsg.): Proceedings of the 9th International Conference on Distributed Event-Based Systems (9th ACM International Conference on Distributed Event-Based Systems, Oslo, Norway). 2015. S. 360—363. – ISBN 978-1-4503-3286-6.

 

Mutschler, C.; Philippsen, M.: Adaptive Speculative Processing of Out-of-Order Event Streams. In: ACM Transactions on Internet Technology (TOIT) 14 (2014), Nr. 1, S. 4:1—4:24, ISSN 1557-6051.

 

Mutschler, C.: Latency Minimization of Order-Preserving Distributed Event-Based Systems. Dissertation. Dr. Hut Verlag. 229 Seiten. ISBN 978-3-8439-1472-7.

 

Mutschler, C.; Löffler, C.; Witt, Nicolas; Edelhäußer, T.; Philippsen, M.: Predictive Load Management in Smart Grid Environments (Best Paper Award). In ACM (Hrsg.): Proceedings of the 8th ACM International Conference on Distributed Event-Based Systems (8th ACM International Conference on Distributed Event-Based Systems, Mumbai, India). 2014. S. 282—287. – ISBN 978-1-2734-4.

 

Mutschler, C.; Ziekow, H.; Jerzak, Z.: The DEBS 2013 Grand Challenge. In: ACM (Hrsg.): Proceedings of the 7th ACM International Conference on Distributed Event-Based Systems (7th ACM International Conference on Distributed Event-Based Systems, Arlington, Texas, USA)., 2013, S. 289-294. - ISBN 978-1-4503-1758-0.

 

Mutschler, C.; Witt, N.; Philippsen, M.: Do Event-Based Systems have a Passion for Sports?. In: ACM (Hrsg.): Proceedings of the 7th ACM International Conference on Distributed Event-Based Systems (7th ACM International Conference on Distributed Event-Based Systems, Arlington, Texas, USA)., 2013, S. 331-332. - ISBN 978-1-4503-1758-0.

 

Mutschler, C.; Philippsen, M.: Reliable Speculative Processing of Out-of-Order Event Streams in Generic Publish/Subscribe Middlewares. In: ACM (Hrsg.): Proceedings of the 7th ACM International Conference on Distributed Event-Based Systems (7th ACM International Conference on Distributed Event-Based Systems, Arlington, Texas, USA)., 2013, S. 147-158. - ISBN 978-1-4503-1758-0.

 

Loeffler, C.; Mutschler, C.; Philippsen, M.: Evolutionary Algorithms that use Runtime Migration of Detector Processes to Reduce Latency in Event-Based Systems. In: IEEE Computer Society (Hrsg.): Proceedings of the 2013 NASA/ESA Conference on Adaptive Hardware and Systems (AHS-2013) (2013 NASA/ESA Conference on Adaptive Hardware and Systems (AHS-2013), Torino, Italy)., 2013, S. 31-38. - ISBN 978-1-4673-6381-5.

 

Mutschler, C.; Philippsen, M.: Dynamic Low-Latency Distributed Event Processing of Sensor Data Streams. In: GI (Hrsg.): Proceedings of the 25th Workshop on Parallel Systems and Algorithms (PARS 2013) (25th Workshop on Parallel Systems and Algorithms (PARS 2013), Erlangen, Germany)., 2013, S. -.

 

Mutschler, C.; Philippsen, M.: Runtime Migration of Stateful Event Detectors with Low-Latency Ordering Constraints. In: IEEE (Hrsg.): Proceedings of the 2013 IEEE International Conference on Pervasive Computing and Communications Workshops (9th International Workshop on Sensor Networks and Systems for Pervasive Computing, San Diego, CA, USA)., 2013, S. 609-614. - ISBN 978-1-4673-5076-1.

 

Mutschler, C.; Philippsen, M.: Distributed Low-Latency Out-of-Order Event Processing for High Data Rate Sensor Streams. In: IEEE Computer Society (Hrsg.): Proceedings of 27th International Parallel and Distributed Processing Symposium (27th IEEE International Parallel & Distributed Processing Symposium (IPDPS), Boston, Massachusetts, USA)., 2013, S. 1133-1144. - ISBN 978-0-7695-4971-2.

 

Mutschler, C.; Philippsen, M.: Learning Event Detection Rules with Noise Hidden Markov Models. In: Benkrid, K.; Merodio, D. (Hrsg.): Proceedings of the 2012 NASA/ESA Conference on Adaptive Hardware and Systems (AHS-2012) (2012 NASA/ESA Conference on Adaptive Hardware and Systems (AHS-2012), Nuremberg, Germany)., 2012, S. 159-166. - ISBN 978-1-4673-1914-0.

 

Mutschler, C.; Philippsen, M.: Towards a Distributed Self-Optimizing Event Processing System for Realtime Locating Systems (RTLS). In: ACM (Hrsg.): DEBS PhD Workshops, 6th ACM International Conference on Distributed Event-Based Systems (International Conference on Distributed Event-Based Systems (DEBS), Berlin, Germany)., 2012.

 

Mutschler, C.; Kókai, G.; Edelhäußer, T.: Online Data Stream Mining on Interactive Trajectories in Soccer Games. In: Artesis University College of Antwerp (Hrsg.): Proceedings of the 2nd International Conference on Positioning and Context-Awareness (PoCA 2011, Brussels)., 2011, S. 15-22. - ISBN 978-94-90705-04-6.

Technologietrends machen auch vor der Sportindustrie nicht Halt
© iStock.com/Gizmo
Technologietrends machen auch vor der Sportindustrie nicht Halt. Wearables zeigen, dass der Sport zukünftig eine starke Technologisierung erfahren wird.

Sports Analytics

Sports Analytics

Auf einen Blick

© Fraunhofer IIS

Sportwissenschaft trifft Spitzentechnologie

In interdisziplinären Teams aus Sportwissenschaftlern, Ingenieuren und Data Scientists bearbeitet das Fraunhofer IIS Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekte rund um die Zusammenführung von Sport und Technologie. Dabei geht es vor allem um eine rechtzeitige Erkennung von situationsrelevanten Ereignissen und in der Aufbereitung dieser Information für den Nutzer. Ermöglicht wird dies durch den Einsatz intelligenter Algorithmik, die aus den Positionsdaten Ereignisse filtert und dadurch eine zeitnahe Reaktion mit den geeigneten Maßnahmen veranlasst.
Die langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich der Datenverarbeitung von Sensordaten im Sport und die Nutzung neuster Technologien sind die Gründe für die Kompetenzballung in diesem Bereich.

Datenschutz und Datenverarbeitung

Wir setzen zum Einbinden von Videos den Anbieter YouTube ein. Wie die meisten Websites verwendet YouTube Cookies, um Informationen über die Besucher ihrer Internetseite zu sammeln. Wenn Sie das Video starten, könnte dies Datenverarbeitungsvorgänge auslösen. Darauf haben wir keinen Einfluss. Weitere Informationen über Datenschutz bei YouTube finden Sie in deren Datenschutzerklärung unter: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

Technologien und Kompetenzen

Künstliche Intelligenz und Maschinelles Lernen

© Fraunhofer IIS

Die Begriffe „künstliche Intelligenz“ und „maschinelles Lernen“ sind heute allgegenwärtig. Das Fraunhofer IIS nutzt diese technischen Innovationen und kann so Mehrwerte schaffen. Die Grundidee dieser Methoden ist, dass sich ein Computer aus bestehenden Daten relevante Analysen erzeugt. Durch den Input des Menschen (hier vor allem Sportwissenschaftler) und die weitentwickelten Trainingsmethoden für lernende Algorithmen, können selbst komplexe Leistungsindikatoren realisiert werden.
Um die aktuellste Forschungsergebnisse im diesem Bereich nutzen zu können besteht eine enge Kooperation mit der Friedrich-Alexander Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg FAU.

Offizielle Spieldaten im Profifußball

© Fraunhofer IIS

In der ersten und zweiten Fußballbundesliga werden momentan videobasierte Trackingsysteme eingesetzt, um Ball und Spieler mittels maschinellen Sehens zu erfassen (Trackingrate 25 Hz). Des Weitern werden manuell Ereignisse wie Pässe, Zweikämpfe und Torschüsse von kommerziellen Spieldatenanbietern erfasst.
Das Fraunhofer IIS verarbeitet diese Daten zu spieler- und mannschaftsbezogenen Leistungsindikatoren, um hochwertige Analysen zu ermöglichen. Beispiele hierfür sind Metriken aus Passnetzwerken und eine kontinuierliche Bewertung der Kompaktheit einer Mannschaft.

Trackingsysteme, Inertialsensorik und Videointegration

Sowohl bei der Entwicklung eigener Lokalisierungssysteme für Sportler (bis zu 3000 Hz Trackingrate), als auch bei der Integration und Analyse kommerzieller Systeme, kann das Fraunhofer IIS auf eine mehr als 10 jährige Erfahrung zurückgreifen. Durch die Fusion mit Inertialsensorik (IMUs) können bestehende Trackingsysteme noch genauer werden oder auch zusätzlichen Mehrwert durch Orientierungsinformation liefern. Auch die Kombination von Video- und Trackingdaten liefert neue Einblicke in weite Bereiche des Sports. So zum Beispiel durch live-Einblendung von Informationen im Fernsehbild, die den Unterhaltungswert auf ein neues Level heben.

Sportwissenschaft

© Fraunhofer IIS

Auch als technologieorientiertes Forschungsinstitut basiert der Erfolg auf dem Einbeziehen klassischer Wissenschaften, um fundierte Erkenntnisse in Projekten zu nutzen. Deshalb sind neben Ingenieuren und Informatikern besonders unsere Sportwissenschaftler in sportbezogenen Projekten ein fester Bestandteil und von entscheidender Bedeutung.

Process Mining

Als eher junges Forschungsgebiet beschäftigt sich Process Mining mit der Analyse von Prozessen. Im Sportkontext können diese Methoden (Process Discovery, Conformance Checking, Process Enhancement) genutzt werden, um Trainingsübungen zu analysieren, interaktiv zu gestalten oder sogar um taktische Modelle ganzer Spiele zu generieren. Mit automatischen Analysen von medizinischen Abläufen ist dieser Forschungsbereich in der Anwendung bekannt geworden, sodass hier bereits etabliert Methoden existieren.

ESI-Fitness

Neueste Analysemethoden aus dem Bereich maschinelles Lernen und künstlicher Intelligenz, kombiniert mit präzisem Echtzeittracking ermöglichen eine neue Tiefe von Spiel- und Trainingsanalysen.

LZE-Projekt

Automatisierte Analysemethoden im Sport liefern technisch, taktisch oder physiologisch bedeutsame Parameter für einen Mehrwert bei Anwendungen im Breitensport oder die Leistungsdiagnostik und Trainingswissenschaft im Profisport.

RedFIR

Wer passt wie oft mit welchem Fuß zu wem? Automatisierte Aktionserkennung durch die Kombination von maschinellem Lernen mit hierarchischer Eventerkennung erlaubt die automatische Generierung von Spielstatistiken.

Sensorik im Fußball

Echtzeit-Analyse der Leistung der Spieler und des Spielverlaufs durch Einsatz kostengünstiger Sensoren und maschinellem Lernen zur Erkennung von Geschwindigkeiten, Aktionen und Ereignissen für Trainer und Spieler.

Wearable-Validierung im Basketball

Die Validierung kommerzieller Wearables ermöglicht eine optimale Trainings- und Spielkontrolle der Sportler in der NBA (National Basketball Association).

Sensorik im Boxen

Echtzeitmessung des Beschleunigungsverlaufs und der Geschwindigkeit von Schlägen mittels speziell entwickelter miniaturisierter Sensortechnik in Verbindung mit sensornaher künstlicher Intelligenz.

Angebot

Evaluation und Beratung für Sporttracking-Systeme

In der Welt des Sports steht den Nutzern ein breites Spektrum an Trackingsystemen zur Verfügung. Je nach Einsatzzweck unterscheiden sich die jeweiligen Technologien hinsichtlich ihrer Güte und Eignung. Um deren Qualität ausführlich beurteilen zu können, haben sich unsere Experten darauf fokussiert, umfassende Systemevaluationen mit hohem Grad an Automatisierung und Standardisierung durchzuführen. Wir sind in der Lage, sowohl Indoor- als auch Outdoorsysteme zu testen und sportrelevante Evaluationsparameter (z.B. Laufdistanzen) zu berechnen, wobei die Präzision der zur Verfügung stehenden Referenzsysteme bis in den Submillimeterbereich hineinreicht. Zudem besteht die Möglichkeit, nicht nur Kennwerte von Bewegungen selbst zu evaluieren, sondern auch ihre häufig parallel dazu erfassten Auswirkungen auf physiologischer Ebene, beispielsweise Herz- oder Atemfrequenz.

Entwicklung von Algorithmen und Studiendurchführung für Technologien im Sport

Sie benötigen Forschungs- und Entwicklungsunterstützung bei der Entwicklung ihrer Algorithmen zu Analysen im Sport? Dann sind Sie beim Fraunhofer IIS genau richtig. Geboten wird eine einzigartige Testumgebung (L.I.N.K. Testhalle) für professionelle Tests und umfangreiche Studien. Das Fraunhofer entwickelt und testet beispielsweise Algorithmen zur Orientierungsschätzung, Belastungssteuerung, Erhebung von KPIs (Key Performance Indicators), Puls und HRV Messungen bis hin zu interaktiven Trainingsübungen oder technisch-taktischer Analysen im Mannschaftsballsport. Unser Angebot richtet sich an die Hersteller von Sporttrackingsystemen (funkbasiert, GPS, Video), kombinierter Systeme inklusive Vitalparametern und besonders an die Hersteller von Wearables.

Analyse offizieller Spieldaten

Die Spielanalyse ist im Profibereich verschiedenster Sportarten ein fester Bestandteil der Leistungsdiagnostik. Sie dient der Bewertung von Spielsituationen, um die Stärken und Schwächen von Sportlern zu erfassen. Dabei ist ein händisches Suchen und Analysieren entsprechender Szenen nicht nur mit hohem Aufwand, sondern auch mit subjektiven Einflüssen verbunden. Auf Basis offizieller Spieldaten ermöglicht das Fraunhofer IIS eine objektive Bewertung gewünschter Szenen anhand von Leistungsparametern, die durch den Kunden festgelegt sind. Zudem können die Merkmalsausprägungen dieser Variablen kundenspezifisch visualisiert und die zugehörigen Videos automatisch geschnitten werden. Mit unserer über 10-jährigen Erfahrung in der Verarbeitung von Trackingdaten sowie unserer Expertise in der Fusion von Tracking- und Videodaten stehen wir Ihnen sowohl für eine langfristige Kooperation im Rahmen einer Entwicklungspartnerschaft als auch für produktorientierte Lösungen zur Verfügung. Unsere individuellen Angebote richten sich insbesondere an Vereine, Verbände, Liga- und Medienvertreter sowie Hersteller von ligaweiten Trackingsystemen.

 

Publikationen zum Thema Data Analytics

Interessiert?

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Sportprojekte oder informieren Sie sich über die Möglichkeiten in Ihrem Anwendungsgebiet.

Zögern Sie nicht, uns zu kontaktieren!