Development of new methods for explainable machine learning in medicine

TraMeExCo: Transparent Medical Expert Companion

The aim of the BMBF’s TraMeExCo (Transparent Medical Expert Companion) project is to research and develop suitable new methods for robust and explainable AI (XAI) in complementary applications (digital pathology, pain analysis, cardiology) in the field of medical technology.

   

To that end, the project team is investigating options for diagnostic predictions in different data forms (microscopic image pyramids, pain videos, EKG data) using current AI methods (deep learning, Bayesian learning, few shot learning). At the same time, the team employs certain approaches to ensure that the decisions thus made are transparent and explainable to the clinical staff. These include investigating and applying methods such as heat maps, layerwise relevance propagation (LRP) and inductive logic programming (ILP). The team is also looking into modeling uncertainties in model predictions using Bayesian learning.

At Fraunhofer IIS, the Image Processing and Medical Engineering department investigates and implements the few shot learning and heat map approaches for digital pathology.

 

That Image Processing and Medical Engineering department also handles determination of heart rate variability in noisy EKG and PEG data using long short-term memory networks. (https://www.iis.fraunhofer.de/en/ff/sse/health/medical-sensors-and-analytics.html).

The Image Sensors department (https://www.iis.fraunhofer.de/shore) investigates Bayesian deep learning methods on pain videos. Researchers make use of the Facial Action Coding System (FACS) as adopted by Ekman and Friesen, in which every movement of individual muscles (action unit), such as the contraction of the eyebrows, is described, interpreted and detected. The presence of certain action units, automatically detected, indicates pain.



Project partner University of Bamberg focuses on the conception, implementation and testing of methods to explain diagnostic system decisions using LIME, LRP and ILP methods.(https://www.uni-bamberg.de/en/cogsys/research/projects/bmbf-project-trameexco/).



Project partner Fraunhofer HHI is further refining the layerwise relevance propagation (LRP) approaches. (https://www.hhi.fraunhofer.de/abteilungen/vca/projekte/trameexco.html).

Press (german)

Publications

Automatisierte Analyse von Daten mittels Maschinellen Lernens in der Medizin

TraMeExCo: Transparent Medical Expert Companion

Ziel des BMBF-Projekts TraMeExCo (Transparent Medical Expert Companion) ist die Erforschung und Entwicklung geeigneter neuer Methoden zum robusten und erklärbaren Maschinellen Lernen (engl. „explainable AI, XAI) auf komplementären Anwendungen (Digitale Pathologie, Schmerzanalyse, Kardiologie) aus dem Bereich der Medizintechnik.

   


Dazu werden zum einen die Möglichkeiten einer diagnostischen Vorhersage auf verschiedenen Datenformen (Mikroskopische Bildpyramiden, Schmerzvideos, EKG-Daten) durch aktuelle Verfahren der Künstlichen Intelligenz ( „Deep Learning“, „Bayes‘sches Lernen“, „View Shot Learning“) untersucht. Zum anderen werden Ansätze genutzt, um die getroffenen Entscheidungen dem klinischen Personal transparent und erklärbar zu machen. Dazu werden Verfahren wie „Heat Maps“, „Layerwise Relevance Propagation“ (LRP) und „Inductive Logic Programming“ (ILP) untersucht und eingesetzt. Zudem wird die Modellierung von Unsicherheiten in Modellvorhersagen mittels Bayes’sches Lernen erforscht.


Am Fraunhofer IIS werden in der Abteilung „Bildverarbeitung und Medizintechnik“ (https://www.iis.fraunhofer.de/de/ff/sse/mbv/mikroskopie/digitale-pathologie.html) Ansätze des „Few Shot Learnings“ und „Heat Maps“ für die Digitale Pathologie untersucht und implementiert.

 

Die Bestimmung von Herzratenvariabilität auf verrauschten EKG und PEG Daten mittels „Long-term-Short-term“ Netzen erfolgt in der Abteilung „Bildverarbeitung und Medizintechnik“ (https://www.iis.fraunhofer.de/de/ff/sse/mks/profil.html).

In der Abteilung „Bildsensorik“ (https://www.iis.fraunhofer.de/de/ff/sse/ils/tech/shore-facedetection.html ) werden Verfahren des „Bayes‘schen Deep Learnings“ auf Schmerzvideos erforscht. Dabei kommt das sogenannte Facial Action Coding System (FACS) nach Ekman und Friesen zum Einsatz, bei dem jede individuelle Muskelbewegung (Action Unit) wie bspw. das Zusammenziehen der Augenbrauen, beschrieben, interpretiert und erkannt wird. Die automatische Erkennung bestimmter Action Units lässt auf Schmerz schließen.

Beim Projektpartner Universität Bamberg steht die Konzeption, Umsetzung und Erprobung von Verfahren zur Erklärbarkeit von diagnostischen Systementscheidungen mit LIME, LRP und ILP-Verfahren im Fokus. (https://www.uni-bamberg.de/en/cogsys/research/projects/bmbf-project-trameexco/).

 

Beim Projektpartner Fraunhofer HHI werden die Ansätze von „Layerwise Relevance Propagation“ (LRP) weiterentwickelt (https://www.hhi.fraunhofer.de/abteilungen/vca/projekte/trameexco.html).

Presse

Publikationen