Dynamic Insights

Optical slow-motion recordings provide insights into dynamic processes. But they show only processes that are actually visible; what happens inside objects during such processes remains unclear. This is where high-speed X-ray detectors come into play. The Fraunhofer Development Center for X-ray Technology EZRT is opening up completely new possibilities for analyzing dynamic processes by means of a synchronous and same-perspective combination of optical high-speed imaging and X-ray imaging.

 

With a loud bang, a car hits a bollard wrapped in bright warning colors. The plastic of the bumper splinters and the car body deforms, almost elegantly wrapping itself around the obstacle. In behaving as they did, the materials responded precisely as the vehicle designers intended. A meticulously prepared crash test like this is designed to demonstrate the correct engineering and safety of the vehicle – a way to show that all the previous calculations and simulations were on the mark.

To this end, the deformation of the vehicle is recorded exactly as it happened using high-speed optical cameras. Examining one image at a time, the experts can piece together how the test matches up with the calculations. Their aim is to make sure that the material on the outside of the vehicle deforms precisely as planned in order to provide maximum protection for hypothetical occupants.

But what, exactly, happens inside the vehicle at the moment of impact? How do the load-bearing structures change? Are the forces transmitted and distributed to the various components as intended? Engineers are desperate to get the answers to such questions. In collaboration with researchers from the Fraunhofer Institute for High-Speed Dynamics, Ernst-Mach-Institut, EMI, the Fraunhofer-internal research project MAVO fastXcrash aims to develop basic principles that will provide answers to questions like these.

XEye: A look inside at over 1000 frames per second

A key component is the X-ray detector, which, in conjunction with the X-ray source, is responsible for the quality of the X-ray images produced. Researchers at the Fraunhofer Development Center for X-ray Technology EZRT have developed a technology that, depending on the energy of the X-ray source, can be used to produce high-speed X-ray images of almost any size. And it can do this at high resolution, at up to 6000 frames per second and with pixel sizes starting at 200 μm. If such high speeds are not required, more detailed images can also be provided starting at a pixel size of 45 μm. The key is the patented XEye technology developed at the Fraunhofer EZRT, which enables X-ray detectors with, for example, an active area of

1.2 m × 0.8 m and a pixel size of 400 μm. The sensitivity of these detectors has been increased to such an extent that even with standard industrial X-ray sources at 1000 frames per second, the image quality they achieve is sufficient to analyze internal processes, depending on the object to be X-rayed. Previously, modeling clay was laboriously added as an indicator to analyze the extent to which a component deforms or moves; now, a digital high speed recording tracks the process more quickly, reliably and in greater detail.

By additionally using the VEye detector in front of the X-ray tube, high-speed optical images can be created from the perspective of the XEye X-ray detector. This enhances understanding of the internal structures.

 

 

“The findings are promising and provide valuable insights – especially for the advanced development of new products.”

Dr. Norman Uhlmann, division director of Fraunhofer EZRT

 

Added value for product development

One of the first practical applications of this technology came in collaboration with the Fürth-based sporting goods manufacturer UVEX Sports. In crash tests with an artificial skull, the material of a bicycle helmet had to demonstrate that it behaved as the designers expected to provide the wearer with the best possible protection in an emergency.

Numerous sectors set to benefit

In addition to failure and deformation analyses, the method is also suitable for observing flow or mixing processes. What is the ideal distribution of hot water in an espresso machine’s portafilter to create the best-tasting coffee? To answer questions such as these, the technology can be combined with computed tomography to record a change in volume over a period of time. This method, also known as 4DCT, allows volume changes to be recorded on a second-by-second basis, which makes it possible to visualize the water flow through the ground coffee in 3D. Construction of a 4DCT demonstrator to answer these and other exciting questions is currently underway in the EZRT’s laboratories, and perhaps at some point in the future it will be possible to record a car crash test in 4D as well.

 

X-ray-Movie: Breaking Bottle

Privacy warning

With the click on the play button an external video from wwww.youtube.com is loaded and started. Your data is possible transferred and stored to third party. Do not start the video if you disagree. Find more about the youtube privacy statement under the following link: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

X-ray-Movie: Bicycle Helmet

Privacy warning

With the click on the play button an external video from wwww.youtube.com is loaded and started. Your data is possible transferred and stored to third party. Do not start the video if you disagree. Find more about the youtube privacy statement under the following link: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

How does X-ray technology improve the crema on your espresso?

Privacy warning

With the click on the play button an external video from wwww.youtube.com is loaded and started. Your data is possible transferred and stored to third party. Do not start the video if you disagree. Find more about the youtube privacy statement under the following link: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

Der dynamische Blick ins Innere

Optische Zeitlupenaufnahmen vermitteln Einblicke in dynamische Prozesse. Doch sind die Erkenntnisse daraus auf sichtbare Vorgänge begrenzt. Was sich im Inneren während des Prozesses ereignet, bleibt unklar. Mithilfe von Hochgeschwindigkeits-Röntgendetektoren lässt sich auch dies sichtbar machen. Völlig neue Möglichkeiten zur Analyse dynamischer Vorgänge bietet die synchrone und perspektivgleiche Kombination aus optischer Hochgeschwindig-keitsaufnahme und Röntgenaufnahme des Fraunhofer-Entwicklungszentrums Röntgentechnik EZRT.

 

Mit einem lauten Knall fährt ein Auto gegen einen in Signalfarben umhüllten Poller. Das Plastik der Stoßstange splittert ab und die Karosserie verformt sich fast schon elegant um das Hindernis herum – exakt dieses Materialverhalten hatten die Konstrukteurinnen und Konstrukteure des Fahrzeugs vorausgeplant. Ein akribisch vorbereiteter Crashtest wie dieser soll Aufschluss über die Richtigkeit der Planung und die Sicherheit des Fahrzeugs geben. Beweisen, dass alle zuvor angestellten Berechnungen und Simulationen zutreffend waren.

Die Verformung des Wagens wird hierbei von optischen Hochgeschwindigkeitskameras genauestens aufgezeichnet. Bild für Bild können die Fachleute auf diese Weise nachvollziehen, wie sich Berechnungen und Versuch gleichen. Mit einem Ziel: Das umgebende Material soll sich genau nach Plan verformen, um den potenziellen Insassen bestmöglichen Schutz zu bieten.

Doch was genau geschieht im Moment des Aufpralls im Inneren des Fahrzeuges? Wie verändern sich die lastaufnehmenden Strukturen? Werden die Kräfte wie geplant auf die verschiedenen Bauteile weitergeleitet und verteilt? Fragen, die Ingenieure und Ingenieurinnen brennend interessieren. In Zusammenarbeit mit Forschenden des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Kurzzeitdynamik, Ernst-Mach-Institut, EMI wird in dem Fraunhofer-internen Forschungsprojekt »MAVO fastX-crash« an Grundlagen gearbeitet, um Fragestellungen wie diese beantworten zu können.

XEye: Ein Blick ins Innere mit mehr als 1000 Bildern pro Sekunde

Eine wesentliche Schlüsselkomponente ist der Röntgendetektor. Gemeinsam mit der Röntgenquelle ist dieser für die Bildqualität der Röntgenaufnahmen verantwortlich. Die Forscherinnen und Forscher des Fraunhofer-Entwicklungszentrums Röntgentechnik EZRT haben eine Technologie entwickelt, mit der, je nach Energie der Röntgenquelle, nahezu beliebig große und dennoch hochaufgelöste Hochgeschwindigkeits-Röntgenaufnahmen mit bis zu 6000 Bildern pro Sekunde und Pixelgrößen ab 200 µm erstellt werden können. Wenn es nicht ganz so schnell gehen muss, auch ab 45 µm Pixelgröße für noch mehr Details. Schlüssel hierfür ist die am EZRT entwickelte und patentierte XEye-Technologie. Röntgendetektoren mit beispielsweise 1,2 m × 0,8 m Abbildungsfläche und gleichzeitig 400 µm Pixelgröße lassen sich hiermit realisieren. Die Empfindlichkeit dieser Detektoren wurde so weit gesteigert, dass schon mit üblichen industriellen Standard-Röntgenquellen bei 1000 Bildern pro Sekunde eine Bildqualität erzielt wird, welche, abhängig vom zu durchstrahlenden Objekt, eine Analyse der inneren Prozesse ermöglicht. Wo bislang aufwendig Knetmasse als Indikator eingebracht wurde, um zu analysieren, wie weit sich ein Bauteil dynamisch verformt oder bewegt, wird nun ein Röntgenfilm erstellt, um den Prozess schneller, zuverlässiger und detailreicher nachzuvollziehen.

Durch zusätzlichen Einsatz des Detektors VEye vor der Röntgenröhre lassen sich optische Hochgeschwindigkeitsaufnahmen aus der Perspektive des XEye-Röntgendetektors erstellen. Das verstärkt das Verständnis für die innen liegenden Strukturen.

 

»Insbesondere für die Vorentwicklung von neuen Produkten sind die Ergebnisse vielversprechend und liefern wertvolle Erkenntnisse.«

Dr. Norman Uhlmann, Bereichsleiter EZRT

 

Mehrwert für die Produktentwicklung

Einen der ersten Praxiseinsätze hatte diese Technologie in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Fürther Sportartikelhersteller UVEX Sports. Bei Sturzversuchen mit einem künstlichen Schädel musste das Material des Fahrradhelms unter Beweis stellen, dass es sich wie von den Konstrukteurinnen und Konstrukteuren erwartet verhält, um im Ernstfall Trägerin und Träger bestmöglichen Schutz zu bieten.

Zahlreiche Branchen profitieren

Neben den Versagens- und Verformungsanalysen eignet sich das Verfahren auch für die Beobachtung von Strömungs- oder Mischprozessen. Wie soll sich etwa das heiße Wasser im Siebträger einer Espressomaschine ideal verteilen, um den optimalen Kaffeegenuss zu erzielen? Für derartige Fragestellungen kann die Technologie auch mit der Computertomographie kombiniert werden, um ein zeitlich veränderliches Volumen zu erhalten. Mit dieser, auch 4D-CT genannten Methode, lassen sich Volumenänderungen sekundenweise erfassen und so lässt sich auch die Durchflutung des Kaffeepulvers dreidimensional sichtbar machen. Ein 4D-CT-Demonstrator zur Beantwortung dieser und weiterer spannender Fragestellungen entsteht gerade in den Laboren des EZRT und vielleicht wird es auch irgendwann einmal möglich sein, einen Pkw-Crashtest in 4D aufzunehmen. 

X-ray-Movie: Breaking Bottle

Datenschutz und Datenverarbeitung

Wir setzen zum Einbinden von Videos den Anbieter YouTube ein. Wie die meisten Websites verwendet YouTube Cookies, um Informationen über die Besucher ihrer Internetseite zu sammeln. Wenn Sie das Video starten, könnte dies Datenverarbeitungsvorgänge auslösen. Darauf haben wir keinen Einfluss. Weitere Informationen über Datenschutz bei YouTube finden Sie in deren Datenschutzerklärung unter: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

X-ray-Movie: Bicycle Helmet

Datenschutz und Datenverarbeitung

Wir setzen zum Einbinden von Videos den Anbieter YouTube ein. Wie die meisten Websites verwendet YouTube Cookies, um Informationen über die Besucher ihrer Internetseite zu sammeln. Wenn Sie das Video starten, könnte dies Datenverarbeitungsvorgänge auslösen. Darauf haben wir keinen Einfluss. Weitere Informationen über Datenschutz bei YouTube finden Sie in deren Datenschutzerklärung unter: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

Wie verbessert Röntgentechnik die Crema auf Deinem Espresso?

Datenschutz und Datenverarbeitung

Wir setzen zum Einbinden von Videos den Anbieter YouTube ein. Wie die meisten Websites verwendet YouTube Cookies, um Informationen über die Besucher ihrer Internetseite zu sammeln. Wenn Sie das Video starten, könnte dies Datenverarbeitungsvorgänge auslösen. Darauf haben wir keinen Einfluss. Weitere Informationen über Datenschutz bei YouTube finden Sie in deren Datenschutzerklärung unter: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube