Energy Harvesting – Thermoelectric

Energy production through temperature differences.

Thermoelectric Power Supply

What is thermoelectric Energy Harvesting?

It's the use of heat or cold sources to supply electrical appliances with energy.

The so-called Seebeck effect is used to generate energy from temperature differences. In this case, an electric current flows between two contact points of two electrical conductors, which have a different temperature. Since the voltages generated by the Seebeck effect are extremely small (a few microvolts per degree of temperature difference), Fraunhofer IIS has been researching for several years to use very small voltages and energy quantities through electrical circuitry and to reduce the energy requirements of electrical systems. Our current developments can already be operated permanently with 2 degrees Kelvin.

Fraunhofer IIS on IDTechEX TV

Dr. Peter Spies explains how the thermoelectric wristband from Fraunhofer IIS works on IDTechEX TV during the congress.

Privacy warning

With the click on the play button an external video from wwww.youtube.com is loaded and started. Your data is possible transferred and stored to third party. Do not start the video if you disagree. Find more about the youtube privacy statement under the following link: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

© IDTechEX TV

Challenges

The realization of an efficient thermal harvesting system faces different challenges. First, a good thermal conductivity from the heat source to the thermoelectric generator (TEG) and from the TEG to the heat sink and the environment must be realized. Thermal simulations take into account the properties and dimensions of the materials and components involved and calculate the optimal configuration for the best heat flow. In addition, a good electrical matching between the TEG and the electronic power management must be ensured. Optimized voltage regulators are used for this purpose which, if necessary, also use maximum power point adjustment (MPPT) techniques when the temperature gradient has some variability. To use even the smallest amounts of energy from the environment, such as on the human body or on buildings, ultra-low voltage start-up voltage boosters can be used to operate with the lowest voltage levels of TEGs. Finally, a highly efficient charge controller must be developed to store the energy in an application-specific energy store.

Taking into account the challenges outlined above, a multidisciplinary approach, including materials science, physics and electrical engineering, is required to arrive at an energy and cost-efficient energy supply.

Our developments with thermoelectric power supply

We develop generators, power management circuits and complete power supply systems consisting of converter, memory and power management.

 

Sensor module BlueTEG

The sensor module BlueTEG from Fraunhofer IIS has an integrated power supply and communicates via a Bluetooth Low Energy radio link. It completely recovers its energy via thermoelectric generators and a special voltage converter from Fraunhofer IIS. The sensor data for temperature and acceleration are transmitted via bluethooth.

 

BlueTEG Pipe

Fraunhofer IIS has developed the sensor BlueTEG Pipe with thermoelectric power supply for industrial applications. BlueTEG Pipe uses temperature differences on pipes, supply lines or energy supply machines. The sensor measures values such as temperature, humidity or gravitational acceleration and sends them to a tablet via Bluetooth Low Energy. With this form of energy generation, sensors and radio electronics supply themselves autonomously from the environment. Elaborate power cables or regular battery replacement are a thing of the past.

 

DC-DC converter ASIC

Thanks to our high-efficiency voltage transformer, even the smallest amount of energy from the environment can be used efficiently. It works with a minimum input voltage and converts it into a higher output voltage. As a result, e.g. thermoelectrically supplied wireless sensors can be operated with energy from a small temperature difference and thus do without annoying battery change or complicated wiring.

Maximum Power Point Tracker

The Maximum Power Point Tracker ensures optimum adaptation between energy converters such as thermal generators or solar cells and energy storage. This system thus guarantees a maximum energy yield with minimum own energy consumption.

 

Energy self-sufficient tracking system

Consistent and energy-efficient localization of goods, people and animals is made possible by the modular, energy-independent tracking system. Satellite navigation was combined with localization in wireless sensor networks and energy supply through Energy Harvesting.

Our offer

  • Highly integrated voltage transformers: starting voltages below 20 mV and high efficiency up to 90%
  • Charge Controllers and Battery Management Circuits: Efficient charging of various types of energy storage with optional charge state estimation
  • Maximum power point tracker for voltage transformers for automatic impedance matching
  • Characterization of thermoelectric harvesters: Laboratory equipment for the generation of defined thermal differences and for the measurement of the output power depending on various parameters
  • Thermal Modeling and Simulation: Software tools for modeling thermoelectric generators, heat sinks and interface structures to optimize heat flow and power output

Energy Harvesting – Thermoelektrisch

Energiegewinnung durch Temperaturunterschiede

Thermoelektrische Energieversorgung

Was ist thermoelektrisches Energy Harvesting?

Es ist die Nutzung von Wärme- oder Kältequellen zur Versorgung von elektrischen Geräten mit Energie.

Der sogenannte Seebeck-Effekt wird bei der Energiegewinnung aus Temperaturdifferenzen genutzt. Hierbei fließt ein elektrischer Strom zwischen zwei Kontaktstellen zweier elektrischer Leiter, die eine unterschiedliche Temperatur haben. Da die Spannungen, die durch den Seebeck-Effekt erzeugt werden, extrem klein sind (wenige Mikrovolt pro Grad Temperaturunterschied), forscht das Fraunhofer IIS seit einigen Jahren daran, kleinste Spannungen und Energiemengen durch elektrische Schaltungstechnik nutzbar zu machen und den Energiebedarf von elektrischen Systemen zu verringern. Unsere aktuellen Entwicklungen können bereits mit 2 Grad Kelvin dauerhaft betrieben werden.

Fraunhofer IIS im IDTechEX TV

Wie das thermoelektrische Armband vom Fraunhofer IIS funktioniert, erklärt Dr. Peter Spies im IDTechEX TV während des Kongresses.

Datenschutz und Datenverarbeitung

Wir setzen zum Einbinden von Videos den Anbieter YouTube ein. Wie die meisten Websites verwendet YouTube Cookies, um Informationen über die Besucher ihrer Internetseite zu sammeln. Wenn Sie das Video starten, könnte dies Datenverarbeitungsvorgänge auslösen. Darauf haben wir keinen Einfluss. Weitere Informationen über Datenschutz bei YouTube finden Sie in deren Datenschutzerklärung unter: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

© IDTechEX TV

Herausforderungen

Die Realisierung eines effizienten thermischen Harvesting-Systems steht vor unterschiedlichen Herausforderungen. Zunächst muss eine gute Wärmeleitfähigkeit von der Wärmequelle zum thermoelektrischen Generator (TEG) und vom TEG zum Kühlkörper und zur Umgebung realisiert werden. Thermische Simulationen berücksichtigen die Eigenschaften und Abmessungen der beteiligten Materialien und Bauelemente und berechnen die optimale Konfiguration für den besten Wärmefluss. Darüber hinaus muss eine gute elektrische Anpassung zwischen dem TEG und dem elektronischen Power Management gewährleistet sein. Für diesen Zweck werden optimierte Spannungsregler verwendet, die wenn nötig auch Techniken zur Anpassung des Punkts maximaler Leistungsabgabe (MPPT) verwenden, wenn der Temperaturgradient eine gewisse Variabilität aufweist. Um auch kleinste Mengen von Energie aus der Umgebung zu nutzen, wie am menschlichen Körper oder an Gebäuden, können Spannungs-Aufwärtswandler mit extrem niedriger Startspannung verwendet werden, um mit den kleinsten Spannungspegeln von TEGs zu arbeiten. Schließlich muss ein hocheffizienter Laderegler zur Speicherung der Energie in einem anwendungsspezifischen Energiespeicher entwickelt werden.

Unter Berücksichtigung der oben genannten Herausforderungen ist ein multidisziplinärer Ansatz, einschließlich Materialwissenschaften, Physik und Elektrotechnik, erforderlich, um zu einer energie- und kosteneffizienten Energieversorgung zu gelangen.

Unsere Entwicklungen mit thermoelektrischer Energieversorgung

Wir entwickeln Generatoren, Powermanagement-Schaltungen und komplette Energieversorgungssysteme bestehend aus Wandler, Speicher und Powermanagement.

 

Sensormodul BlueTEG

Das Sensormodul BlueTEG vom Fraunhofer IIS hat eine integrierte Energieversorgung und kommuniziert über eine Bluetooth Low Energy Funkverbindung. Es gewinnt seine Energie vollständig über Thermogeneratoren und einem speziellen Spannungswandler des Fraunhofer IIS. Die Sensordaten für Temperatur und Beschleunigung werden per Bluethooth übertragen.

 

BlueTEG Pipe

Das Fraunhofer IIS hat für industrielle Anwendungen den Sensor BlueTEG Pipe mit thermoelektrischer Energieversorgung entwickelt. BlueTEG Pipe nutzt Temperaturdifferenzen an Rohren, Versorgungsleitungen oder Maschinen zur Energieversorgung. Der Sensor misst Werte wie die Temperatur, Feuchtigkeit oder die Erdbeschleunigung und sendet diese via Bluetooth Low Energy an ein Tablet. Mit dieser Form der Energiegewinnung versorgen sich Sensoren und Funkelektronik autark aus der Umgebung. Aufwendige Stromkabel oder regelmäßige Batteriewechsel gehören der Vergangenheit an.

 

DC-DC Wandler ASIC

Durch unseren hocheffizienten Spannungswandler kann schon die kleinste Menge an Energie aus der Umgebung effizient genutzt werden. Er arbeitet mit einer minimalen Eingangsspannung und wandelt diese in eine höhere Ausgangsspannung um. Dadurch können z. B. thermoelektrisch versorgte Funksensoren mit Energie aus einer kleinen Temperaturdifferenz betrieben werden und kommen so ohne lästigen Batteriewechsel oder aufwendige Verkabelung aus.

Maximum Power Point Tracker

Der Maximum Power Point Tracker sorgt für eine optimale Anpassung zwischen Energiewandler wie Thermogenerator oder Solarzellen und Energiespeicher. Dieses System garantiert damit eine maximale Energieausbeute bei minimalem Eigenenergieverbrauch.

 

Energieautarkes Trackingsystem

Durchgängige und energieeffiziente Lokalisierung von Waren, Personen und Tieren wird durch das modulare, energieautarke Trackingsystem möglich. Hierbei wurde die satellitengestützte Navigation mit Lokalisierung in drahtlosen Sensornetzen und eine Energieversorgung durch Energy Harvesting kombiniert.

Unser Angebot

  • Hochintegrierte Spannungswandler: Anlaufspannungen unter 20 mV und hoher Wirkungsgrad bis zu 90%
  • Laderegler und Batteriemanagement-Schaltungen: Effizientes Laden von verschiedenen Arten von Energiespeichern mit optionaler Ladezustandsschätzung
  • Maximum Power Point Tracker für Spannungswandler zur automatischen Impedanzanpassung
  • Charakterisierung von thermoelektrischen Harvestern: Laborgeräte zur Erzeugung definierter thermischer Differenzen und zur Messung der Ausgangsleistung in Abhängigkeit von verschiedenen Parametern
  • Thermische Modellierung und Simulation: Software-Tools zur Modellierung thermoelektrischer Generatoren, Kühlkörpern und Schnittstellenstrukturen zur Optimierung von Wärmefluss und Leistungsabgabe