Energy Harvesting from mechanical movements

Use existing vibrations to operate electronic sensors.

Mechanical Power Supply

Mechanical motion, pressure or vibrations can be converted into electrical voltages with piezoelectric or inductive generators, for example. In this way, existing vibrations on machines or motors are used to supply small electronic devices with energy.

How does mechanical energy generation work?

In mechanical energy generation, electrical energy is generated from movements or vibrations. Different principles can be used here:

A principle uses piezoelectric materials that react with charge separation when deformed by motion or periodic vibration. Piezoelectric generators typically generate large voltages in the range of ten to one hundred volts, but only very small currents. They can be built as a resonant cantilever structure or applied directly to surfaces that exhibit mechanical deformation.

Another method of converting mechanical energy into electrical energy are electrodynamic or inductive generators, where a combination of a magnet and a coil are the key elements for power generation. When a combination of these components is subjected to vibration and the magnet moves relative to the coil, an electric current is induced in the coil. After rectification, this current can be used to charge a battery or capacitor. The voltages of an electrodynamic generator are typically lower than those of piezoelectric transducers. The current can be influenced by the characteristics of the coil and magnet.

Electrostatic generators can also be used to generate electrical energy from vibrations. They are comparable to an electrical capacitor in which one capacitor plate is suspended so that it can move relative to the other. By charging the capacitor when the plates are far apart and discharging the capacitor when the plates are nearby, electrical energy can be generated. With this generator principle, the output power depends on the capacitance value of the capacitor and its charging voltage.

Challenges

The realization of an efficient mechanical power generation system involves various challenges. First of all, a good mechanical coupling from the vibration source to the harvester must be ensured. Mechanical simulations take into account the properties and dimensions of the components and calculate the optimal configuration for the correct coupling.

In addition, a good electrical matching between the mechanical harvester and the electronic power management must be ensured. For this purpose, optimized voltage regulators are used, which can also use techniques to track the maximum power point. Furthermore, a highly efficient charge regulator must be designed to store the energy.

Given the above challenges, a multidisciplinary approach involving materials science, physics and electrical engineering is essential to achieve an energy-efficient and cost-effective power supply.

Our research activities in the field of mechanical energy supply

A critical component alongside the generator itself is power management, which has the task of adjusting the voltage or current profile of the harvester to charge a capacitor or battery. Rectifiers and DC/DC converters are typically used. Challenges here are the high voltages and low currents of piezoelectric generators. An active rectifier can be used when very low voltages are provided by the generators. In certain cases, point followers with maximum power are also used to automatically adapt the power management to the harvester.

We have concentrated on the development of highly efficient power management systems and power supplies as well as complete microsystems.

The special thing about our research results are:

  • Processing of smallest currents (less than 3µA) and voltages (less than 20 mV)
  • Use of smallest vibrations (less than 100 mg)
  • Use of high pulses at low frequencies (below 10 Hz)

Our developments with mechanical energy supply

We develop generators and complete power supply systems consisting of converters, storage and power management.

 

Vibration converter

The vibration converter from Fraunhofer IIS is characterized by the effective use of very small vibrations of 0.1 g. The vibration converter is designed for the use in a wide range of applications. With a movement of 60 Hz, we can supply two sensors with electrical energy and transfer the measured data once per second via Bluetooth Low Energy to a system.

 

AC-DC converter

Piezo-electric generators generate an alternating voltage. Our highly efficient AC-DC converter transforms it into a DC voltage so that it can be used to operate a circuit. Due to its special architecture, it enables a maximum power yield and operates with minimum input currents.

 

Energy self-sufficient tracking system

Consistent and energy-efficient localization of goods, people and animals is made possible by the modular, energy-autonomous tracking system. The system combines satellite-based navigation with localization in wireless sensor networks and energy harvesting.

 

Oval Gear Meter

Our researchers have also succeeded in generating electricity from volume flows with oval gear meters. With a suitable arrangement of magnets on the gear wheels and permanently installed coils on the housing, sufficient electrical energy can be generated from the rotary movement alone. This means that a radio module can be supplied without additional batteries and the measurement data can be transmitted wirelessly. With Energy Harvesting it is now possible to use such measuring systems economically and maintenance-free at previously inaccessible locations.

Our offer

  • Highly efficient voltage transformers: Maximum voltage range up to 80 volts and high efficiency up to 90%.
  • Charge regulator and battery management circuits: Efficient charging of various types of energy storage devices with optional state-of-the-art charge estimation.
  • Maximum Power Point Tracker control loops for voltage converters to perform automatic impedance matching
  • Characterization of mechanical harvesters: Laboratory equipment for generating defined oscillations and measuring the output power as a function of various parameters
  • Mechanical Modeling and Simulation: Software tools for modeling mechanical generators

Energy Harvesting aus mechanischen Bewegungen

Vorhandene Schwingungen nutzen, um drahtlose Sensoren zu betreiben.

Mechanische Energieversorgung

Mechanische Bewegung oder Schwingungen können mit Generatoren in elektrische Spannungen umgewandelt werden. So nutzt man beispielsweise vorhandene Vibrationen an Maschinen oder Motoren, um kleine elektronische Geräte mit Energie zu versorgen.

Wie funktioniert mechanische Energiegewinnung?

Bei der mechanischen Energiegewinnung wird aus Bewegungen oder Vibrationen elektrische Energie erzeugt. Hierbei können unterschiedliche Prinzipien Einsatz finden:

Ein Prinzip nutzt piezoelektrische Materialien, die mit einer Ladungstrennung reagieren, wenn sie durch eine Bewegung oder eine periodische Vibration verformt werden. Piezoelektrische Generatoren erzeugen typischerweise große Spannungen im Bereich von zehn bis hundert Volt, aber nur sehr kleine Ströme. Sie können als resonante Kragarmstruktur gebaut oder direkt auf Oberflächen, die eine mechanische Verformung aufweisen, aufgebracht werden.

Eine weitere Methode mechanische in elektrische Energie umzuwandeln sind elektrodynamische oder induktive Generatoren, bei denen eine Kombination aus einem Magneten und einer Spule die Schlüsselelemente für die Stromerzeugung sind. Wenn eine Kombination dieser Bauteile einer Vibration ausgesetzt ist und sich der Magnet relativ zur Spule bewegt, wird in der Spule ein elektrischer Strom induziert. Dieser Strom kann nach Gleichrichtung zum Laden einer Batterie oder eines Kondensators verwendet werden. Die Spannungen eines elektrodynamischen Generators sind typischerweise niedriger als die von piezoelektrischen Wandlern. Der Strom kann durch die Eigenschaften der Spule und des Magneten beeinflusst werden.

Auch mit elektrostatischen Generatoren kann elektrische Energie aus Vibrationen gewonnen werden. Sie sind vergleichbar mit einem elektrischen Kondensator, bei dem eine Kondensatorplatte relativ zur anderen beweglich aufgehängt ist. Durch das Aufladen des Kondensators wenn die Platten weit voneinander entfernt sind und das Entladen des Kondensators, wenn sich die Platten in der Nähe befinden, kann elektrische Energie erzeugt werden. Bei diesem Generatorprinzip ist die Ausgangsleistung abhängig vom Kapazitätswert des Kondensators und seiner Ladespannung.

Herausforderungen

Die Realisierung eines effizienten mechanischen Energiewandler-Systems beinhaltet verschiedene Herausforderungen. Zunächst muss eine gute mechanische Kopplung von der Schwingungsquelle zum Vibrationswandler umgesetzt werden. Mechanische Simulationen berücksichtigen dabei die Eigenschaften und Abmessungen der Bauteile und Materialien und berechnen die optimale Konfiguration für die richtige Kupplung.

Darüber hinaus muss eine gute elektrische Anpassung zwischen dem mechanischen Energiewandler und der elektronischen Spannungswandlung gewährleistet sein. Zu diesem Zweck werden optimierte Spannungsregler verwendet, die auch Techniken zur Justierung des Punktes maximaler Leistungsabgabe (MPP) verwenden. Außerdem muss ein hocheffizienter Laderegler zur Speicherung der Energie realisiert werden.

Angesichts der oben genannten Herausforderungen ist ein multidisziplinärer Ansatz unter Einbeziehung der Materialwissenschaften, der Physik und der Elektrotechnik unerlässlich, um zu einer energie- und kosteneffizienten Energieversorgung zu gelangen.

Unsere Forschung für mechanische Energieversorgungen

Kritische Komponente einer mechanischen Energieversorgung ist neben dem Generator selbst das Powermanagement, das die Aufgabe hat, das Spannungs- und Stromprofil des Harvesters so anzupassen, dass ein Kondensator oder eine Batterie effizient geladen werden kann. Typischerweise werden Gleichrichter und Gleichstromwandler verwendet. Herausforderungen sind dabei beispielsweise die hohen Spannungen und niedrigen Ströme von piezoelektrischen Generatoren. Aktive Gleichrichter können verwendet werden, wenn sehr niedrige Spannungen von den Generatoren bereitgestellt werden, wie bei induktiven Generatoren. In bestimmten Fällen werden auch Maximum Power Point Tracker eingesetzt, um das Power-Management automatisch an den Harvester anzupassen.

Wir haben uns auf die Entwicklung von hocheffizienten Powermanagement-Systemen und Energieversorgungen sowie kompletten Mikrosystemen konzentriert.

Das Besondere an unseren Forschungsergebnissen sind:

  • Verarbeitung von kleinsten Strömen (kleiner 3µA) und Spannungen (kleiner 20 mV)
  • Nutzung von kleinsten Vibrationen (kleiner 100 mg)
  • Nutzung von hohen Impulse bei kleinen Frequenzen (unter 10 Hz)

Unsere Entwicklungen mit mechanischer Energieversorgung

Wir entwickeln Generatoren und komplette Energieversorgungssystemen bestehend aus Wandler, Speicher und Powermanagement.

 

Vibrationswandler

Der Vibrationswandler vom Fraunhofer IIS zeichnet sich durch die effektive Nutzung von kleinsten Schwingungen von 0,1 g und darunter aus. Bei einer Frequenz von 60 Hertz können wir Sensoren mit elektrischer Energie versorgen und die gemessenen Daten per Bluetooth Low Energy übertragen.

 

AC-DC Wandler

Piezoelektrische Generatoren erzeugen eine Wechselspannung. Um diese für den Betrieb einer elektronischen Schaltung nutzen zu können, übersetzt unser hocheffiziente AC-DC Konverter diese in eine Gleichspannung. Durch seine spezielle Architektur ermöglicht er eine maximale Leistungsausbeute und arbeitet mit minimalen Eingangsströmen.

 

Energieautarkes Trackingsystem

Durchgängige und energieeffiziente Lokalisierung von Waren, Personen und Tieren wird durch das modulare, energieautarke Trackingsystem ENTRAS möglich. Hierbei wurde die satellitengestützte Navigation, eine Kommunikation über UMTS und eine Energieversorgung durch Energy Harvesting kombiniert.

 

Ovalradzähler

Unseren Forschern ist es gelungen, Strom aus Volumenströmen mit Ovalradzählern zu erzeugen. Mit einer geeigneten Anordnung von Magneten an den Zahnrädern und fest installierten Spulen am Gehäuse kann allein aus der Drehbewegung ausreichend elektrische Energie gewonnen werden. Damit kann ohne weitere Batterien ein Funkmodul versorgt und die Messdaten drahtlos übertragen werden.

Unser Angebot

  • Hocheffiziente Spannungswandler: Maximaler Spannungsbereich bis 80 Volt und hoher Wirkungsgrad bis 90 %.
  • Laderegler und Batterieverwaltungskreise: Effizientes Laden verschiedener Arten von Energiespeichern mit optionaler State-of-the-Art-Ladeschätzung
  • Maximum Power Point Tracker-Regelkreise für Spannungswandler zur Durchführung der automatischen Impedanzanpassung
  • Charakterisierung von mechanischen Harvestern: Laborgeräte zur Erzeugung definierter Schwingungen und Messung der Ausgangsleistung in Abhängigkeit von verschiedenen Parametern
  • Mechanische Modellierung und Simulation: Software-Tools zur Modellierung mechanischer Generatoren