Würfel mit Abbildungen von verschiedenen Personen sind durch grüne Linien miteinander vernetzt.
© fotogestoeber - stock.adobe.com
Darstellung des Contact Tracings

Fraunhofer vs. Corona#

Keeping - distance - together!

Supporting technolgies during a time of crisis

Since the end of 2019 the virus SARS-CoV-2 affected lives everywhere. Spreading allaround the world, the virus created a global pandemic: Over 100 million people have been infected with the virus already. Measurements to stop chains of infection and therefor reduce the speed of the spreading are being enforced globally.

A wide prevention to control the number of infections is based on two main actions:

Keeping distance as the easiest and most effective instrument against new infections

Due to the fact, that SARS-CoV-2 mainly spreads through droplets in midair, keeping at least 1,5 meters distance from other people is on one hand easily realizable and on the other hand a highly effective measure against infections.

This picture shows a graphic display of social distancing. There are two people wearing masks and keeping their distance. Inbetween both of them is an arrow with the words Social Distancing and 1,5 Meters written above. In the background there are covid-19 bacteria.
© Fraunhofer IIS/Windisch
Social Distancing

What is Social Distancing?

Social Distancing means to reduce the number of personal contact to a minimum to embank the infectious disease. That is to limit personal encounters to a few, familiar persons, avoid big gatherings and always keep a safety distance of at least 1.5 meters.

Contact tracing to stop existing chains of infection

To disrupt existing chains of infection quickly and early a continuing and detailed observation of the rate of new infections is indispensable. From that there must be a systematic identification, isolation and testing of potentially infected persons. This task takes a considerable amount of time and effort from all employees of health offices.

This picture displays a graphic representation of contact tracing. There are five people all wearing masks whom are connected to each other. One person is infected with the corona-virus. All the other persons in this network are being notified about their risk encounter by their smartphones.
© Fraunhofer IIS/Windisch
Contact Tracing

What is Contact Tracing?

Contact Tracing implies the backtracking of people, who have been in contact with infected patients. It is an important action to minimize the spreading of Covid-19 by interrupting chains of infection. You are considered a contact person after being in face-to-face contact with an infected person for at least 15 minutes or once you stayed in a room for a longer period of time with that person.

Technologies for social distancing and contact tracing#

Based on this problem it becomes self-evident to use technological resources to observe the following of distancing regulations and to trace contacts. Due to this, Fraunhofer IIS developed expertise and technologies to support social distancing and contact tracing.

User Know-how für Public-Apps#

Distance estimation via bluetooth

The standard solution of real-time positioning enables contact tracing through public social distancing apps as well as in-house business apps and therefor provides the technological basis for different coronavirus warning apps.

Testing for social distancing apps

Due to social distancing apps being completely new, testing the supporting technologies is inevitable. With the help of a complex testing procedure, real distances can be measured and compared with data gathered from social distancing apps.

Exposure notification API

Digital contact tracing can only be effective because of the exposure notification API developed by Google and Apple. The interface allows data exchange from one operating system to another for the first time, which was a main problem while developing social distancing apps.

 

User Know-how for Business-Apps#

Using a company internal business-app provides a solution to secure a centric backtracking of contacts within companies and a fast understanding of infection dynamics . With that it helps to keep productions going and at the same time protects the employees. Our technologies and know-how assist you on that:

Sonic distance estimation

Measuring the distance of end devices via sonic signals provides a new and dependable way of tracing encounters. With this comes the chance of an individual in-house business-app for tracing contacts with employees.

Distance estimation via UWB

More and more companies are searching for technologies, which enable them to secure the safety distancing rules within their premises. Distance measuring via Ultra Wide Band offers a great solution for testing and developing concepts for distance keeping.

Analysis of air quality

Intelligent sensor systems shall measure the CO2 content, temperature and air humidity as accurate as possible. Conclusion on the air quality shall be deducted via a wireless transfer of the data and machine learning.

Würfel mit Abbildungen von verschiedenen Personen sind durch grüne Linien miteinander vernetzt.
© fotogestoeber - stock.adobe.com
Darstellung des Contact Tracings

Fraunhofer vs. Corona

Zusammen - Abstand - halten!

Unterstützende Technologien in Krisenzeiten

Seit Ende des Jahres 2019 bestimmt das neuartige Coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 das Leben auf der Welt. Das Virus hat sich weltweit ausgebreitet und zu einer schwerwiegenden Pandemie entwickelt: bereits über 100 Mio. Menschen haben sich mit dem Virus infiziert. Im Frühjahr 2020 wurden weltweit Maßnahmen getroffen mit dem Ziel, Infektionsketten zu unterbrechen und die unkontrollierte Ausbreitung des Virus zu verlangsamen.  

Eine breitangelegte Prävention zur langfristigen Beherrschung der Infektionszahlen ruht dabei im Wesentlichen auf zwei Säulen:

Abstand als einfachstes und effektivstes Mittel gegen Neuinfektionen

Da sich SARS-CoV-2 vor allem über virushaltige Tröpfchen in der Luft verbreitet, bietet das Einhalten eines Mindestabstands von 1,5 m zu Mitmenschen einen ebenso einfach umsetzbaren wie auch wirkungsvollen Schutz gegen Neuinfektionen.

Zwei Personen mit Mund- und Nasenschutzmasken halten 1,5 Meter Abstand.
© Fraunhofer IIS/Windisch
Räumliche Distanzierung

Was ist Social Distancing?

Social Distancing (deutsch: räumliche Distanzierug) bedeutet die Anzahl an persönlichen Kontakten auf ein Minimum zu reduzieren, mit dem Ziel Infektionskrankheiten einzudämmen. Das heißt persönliche Treffen auf wenige, bekannte Personen zu beschränken, große Menschenansammlungen zu meiden und einen Sicherheitsabstand von 1,5 Metern zu wahren.

Kontaktnachverfolgung zur Unterbrechung bestehender Infektionsketten

Zur schnellen und frühzeitigen Unterbrechung bestehender Infektionsketten ist eine kontinuierliche und genaue Beobachtung des Infektionsgeschehens und die gezielte Identifikation, Isolation und Testung potentiell Infizierter unabdingbar. Diese Aufgabe wird mit erheblichem Aufwand durch die Gesundheitsämter erledigt.

Fünf Personen werden mittels Smartphone Benachrichtigungen über den Kontakt mit einer infizierten Person benachrichtigt.
© Fraunhofer IIS/Windisch
Kontaktpersonennachverfolgung

Was ist Contact Tracing?

Contact Tracing (deutsch: Kontaktpersonennachverfolgung) beschreibt die Rückverfolgung von Personen die mit einer infizierten Person in Kontakt gekommen sind. Es ist ein wichtiges Mittel um die Ausbreitung von Infektionskrankheiten zu minimieren, indem Infektionsketten unterbrochen werden können. Als Kontaktperson gilt, wer mindestens 15 Minuten "face-to-face" Kontakt mit einer infizierten Person hatte, oder sich über längere Zeit mit dieser in einem Raum befand.

Technologien für Social Distancing und Contact Tracing

Auf Basis dieser Problemstellung lag es nahe, für die Überwachung der Abstandsregeln und die Nachverfolgung von Kontakten technologische Hilfsmitteln zu nutzen. Vor diesem Hintergrund hat das Fraunhofer IIS verschiedene Kompetenzen und Technologien zur Unterstützung von Social Distancing und Contact Tracing Maßnahmen entwickelt.

User Know-how für Public-Apps

 

Distanzschätzung über Bluetooth

Die Standardlösung der Echtzeit-Lokalisierung wird  zum Contact Tracing sowohl für öffentliche, also auch unternehmensinterne Social Distancing Apps verwendet und bietet somit die technologische Grundlage verschiedener Corona-Warn-Apps.

 

Testing für Social Distancing Apps

Aufgrund der Neuartigkeit von Social Distancing Apps ist eine Testung der unterstützenden Technologien unabdingbar. Anhand eines komplexen Testverfahrens können reale Abstände gemessen und mit den Daten der Social Distancing Apps verglichen werden.

 

Exposure Notification Schnittstelle

Ohne die Exposure Notification API von Google und Apple wäre ein wirksames Contact Tracing auf digitale Art nicht möglich.

Durch die Schnittstelle wird erstmals ein Austausch von Daten zwischen beiden Betriebssystemen ermöglicht.

User Know-how für Business-Apps

Für eine zentrale Rückverfolgung der Kontakte in Unternehmen und eine schnelle Erfassung von Infektionsdynamiken liegt die Lösung in der Verwendung einer unternehmensinternen Business-App nahe. Diese hilft die Produktion am Laufen zu halten und zeitgleich die Mitarbeiter zu schützen. Unsere Technologien und unser Know-how unterstützen Sie dabei:

 

Akustische Distanzschätzung

Die neuartige Technologie zur Abstandsmessung zweier Endgeräte stellt eine zuverflässige Methode zum Aufzeichnen von Begegnungen dar. Durch akustische Signale können Distanzen gemessen werden, wodurch eine individuelle Lösung zum Contact Tracing in Unternehmen ermöglicht werden kann.

 

Distanzschätzung mit UWB

Immer mehr Unternehmen sind auf der Suche nach Technologien, die bei der Einhaltung des Sicherheitsabstandes in ihren Räumlichkeiten unterstützen. Die Distanzmessung mit der Ultra Wide Band Funktechnologie bietet genau die richtige Lösung dafür.

KI-basierte Luftanalyse

 

Mit Hilfe von intelligenter Sensorik soll CO2, die Temperatur und Luftfeuchtigkeit möglichst genau gemessen und robust drahtlos übertragen werden, um mittels Künstlicher Intelligenz Rückschlüsse auf die Luftqualität zu ziehen.